Announcing Winners of Lagos Studies Association (LSA) 2019 Awards.

Halimat Somotan's picture
May 26, 2019 to June 28, 2019
Subject Fields: 
Urban History / Studies

The LSA is pleased to announce the winners of its 2019 awards. The awards will be formally presented to the winners at the banquet of the 4th LSA Conference on June 28.


Distinguished Scholar Award: Jonathan Haynes (Professor of English and Film Studies, Long Island University): Read nomination by Paul Ugor (Illinois State University)


Distinguished Personality Award: Nike Okundaye (Artist, gallery owner). Read nomination by Titilope Salami (University of Lagos)


Best Doctoral Thesis Award: Rosemary Oyinlola Popoola (Covenant University) for “Advocacy and Women’s Rights in Lagos and Ogun States, Nigeria 1999-2015.”  Read nomination by co-supervisor Oluyemi Fayomi


Best Graduate Student Paper (Joint Winners): Olubukola Aina Olunloyo (Yaba College of Technology) for “The Ikorodu-Mile 12 Road Upgrade and Displaced Women” and Helen Ufuoma Ugah (Obafemi Awolowo University) for “Stance and Evaluation in the Inaugural Speeches of Lagos State Governors.”

Contact Info: 

Saheed Aderinto, Ph.D

Associate Professor of History
Department of History

Western Carolina University
286 Central Drive, Cullowhee, NC 28723