Extended Deadline, Essay Prize

Lydia Towns's picture
May 25, 2019
Subject Fields: 
African History / Studies, Atlantic History / Studies, British History / Studies, Geography, Maritime History / Studies

Society for the History of Discoveries Student Essay Prize

Deadline extended: May 25, 2019

Areas of eligible research include:  voyages of exploration, travel narratives, biography relevant to the history of discoveries and exploration, history, cartography, the technologies of travel, impact of travel and cultural exchange, and other aspects of geographic discovery and exploration.

Who is Eligible:  Students from any part of the globe currently enrolled in a college or university degree program and who will not have received a doctoral degree prior to 15 May of the submission year.

The Research Paper:  An eligible research paper shall be original and unpublished, written in English, between 3,000 and 8,000 words, plus footnotes or endnotes.  Papers written for college or university class assignments are encouraged, but students may write specifically for this prize.  A reasonable amount of illustrative and tabular material will be welcome, but is not required.

The awardee will receive a prize of $500.00 (US) and will be invited to present a version of the paper at the annual meeting of the Society for the History of Discoveries.  Information about participation in the conference will be provided to the awardee upon notification of the award, including details concerning costs and travel funding.  Acceptance of the prize is not contingent upon your ability to attend the conference.  Additionally, the awardee will be invited to submit the winning paper to the society’s peer-reviewed journal, Terrae Incognitae, for which it will undergo the usual review process prior to formal acceptance for publication, of which there is no guarantee.

For more information please visit https://discoveryhistory.org/student-prize/

For more information please contact Dr. Good, committee chair amg@reinhardt.edu

Contact Info: 

Dr. Good, Chair of the committee

Contact Email: