CFP: European History Section of the Southern Historical Association

Emily Gioielli Announcement
Tennessee, United States
Subject Fields
Eastern Europe History / Studies, European History / Studies, Immigration & Migration History / Studies, Jewish History / Studies, Modern European History / Studies

The European History Section of the Southern Historical Association invites proposals for individual papers and complete panels for presentation at the annual meeting of the Southern Historical Association in Memphis, Tennessee, November 19–22, 2020. Papers on any aspect and any period of European history or European history in global context are welcome. The program committee especially encourages full panel proposals comparing Europe to other regions or exploring connections between Europe and other regions. The committee also encourages diversity and inclusion with respect to the composition of panels.


Individual paper submissions must include an abstract of approximately 250 words and a 1–2-page CV. Panels should consist of two or three papers, a commentator, and a chair. Doctoral students, as well as faculty members and independent scholars, are welcome to submit individual papers or panels, although a panel should not consist exclusively of graduate students.


Submissions for full panels should include a 250-word abstract for each paper, a short CV for each participant, and a 250–500-word description of the overarching topic or theme of the panel with a working panel title. Please provide the full name, affiliation, and email address of each participant and indicate who is serving as panel organizer. (Note that we cannot accommodate special scheduling requests. Participants must be available to present whenever their session is scheduled.) Proposals should be sent electronically to Emily Gioielli, Program Chair, at


Proposals must be received by August 15, 2019 to be considered for the 2020 Program. Panelists must be current members of the EHS at the time of the 2020 Conference.


Contact Information

Emily R. Gioielli

Program Committee Chair



Contact Email