2019 Ferguson Prize - Society for the History of Technology

Maria Portuondo's picture
April 15, 2019
Subject Fields: 
Archival Science, Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Digital Humanities, Historic Preservation, History of Science, Medicine, and Technology

Society for the History of Technology


Now Soliciting Nominations for the 2019 Ferguson Prize

Deadline April 15, 2019


The Eugene S. Ferguson Prize is awarded by SHOT for an outstanding and original reference work that supports future scholarship in the history of technology. In light of Eugene Ferguson’s noteworthy contributions to our understanding of visual thinking and visual display, nominations of works that demonstrate commitment to and achievement of nonverbal knowledge generation and transmission are especially encouraged. The biennial prize will be awarded in 2019 and presented at SHOT’s annual meeting in Milan. Reflecting the scope of Eugene Ferguson’s contributions to the history of technology, submissions and nominations for the following types of reference and scholarly works and tools will be considered for the Ferguson Prize:


  • Bibliographies
  • Biographical dictionaries
  • Critical editions of primary source materials in English
  • Exhibition catalogues
  • Guides to the field of the history of technology
  • Historical dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • Subject guides to archival repositories and library sources
  • Topical atlases
  • Translated works (into English) with substantial annotation and/or other scholarly apparatus
  • Permanent works that extend beyond the printed text, including other media such as CDs, World Wide Web sites, and electronic databases and digital tools.



Works published from 2015 through 2018 are eligible for consideration. Publication date shall be interpreted as the year in which the work to be considered first appeared (i.e., first edition, first issuance, first availability to the public, first uploading to the World Wide Web of the complete site, etc.). All works considered must be in English. Nominations by publishers and authors should be accompanied by a letter and three copies of the printed text or electronic media being nominated. These should be mailed individually to each committee member to addresses indicated below. Nominations by third parties should be sent via email to the Chair of the award committee: María M. Portuondo <mportuondo@jhu.edu>. The deadline for nominations is April 15, 2019.


About the Ferguson Prize

The Ferguson Prize recognizes work that is in the tradition of scholarly excellence established by Eugene S. Ferguson (1916-2004), SHOT’s pioneering bibliographer, a founding member of the Society (President, 1977-1978; da Vinci Medalist, 1977), museum curator and exhibit catalog author, editor, annotator, university professor, and scholar of the history of engineering and technology. The prize consists of a plaque and a cash award. For more information and a list of previous winners, please visit: https://www.historyoftechnology.org/about-us/awards-prizes-and-grants/the-ferguson-prize/


2019 SHOT Ferguson Prize Committee


María M. Portuondo, Chair (2018–2020)


The Johns Hopkins University

Department of History of Science and Technology
3400 N. Charles Street, Gilman Hall 301
Baltimore, MD 21218


Pamela O. Long

3100 Connecticut Ave NW Apt 137
Washington, DC 20008-5100


David C. Brock


Computer History Museum

1401 N. Shoreline Blvd.

Mountain View, CA 94943


Contact Info: 

María M. Portuondo, Committee Chair

The Johns Hopkins University

Contact Email: