Society of Automotive Historians Richard Scharchburg Student Paper Award for 2019

John Heitmann's picture
June 10, 2019
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Economic History / Studies, History of Science, Medicine, and Technology, Modern European History / Studies, World History / Studies



In order to encourage research and writing effort among university students in the area of automotive history, the Society confers its annual award for the best student paper in the auto history field.  The award is named for Richard Scharchburg, the late Professor of History at Kettering University, eminent automotive historian, and past vice president of the Society of Automotive Historians. Persons submitting papers must be enrolled at educational institutions (upper-class undergraduate or graduate level) at the time of submission.  This competition is international in scope, but papers must be in the English language.  Papers already published or scheduled for publication will not be accepted.


Manuscripts should not exceed 10,000 words, and should be double-spaced. An abstract is requested.  Judging criteria include clear statement of purpose and testable hypothesis, accuracy and thoroughness of research, originality of the research, documentation, quality and extent of bibliographic resources, and writing style.  Diagrams, graphs, or photographs may be included.  Submissions are to be electronic, in Word or pdf files only, to the e-mail address below.


Possible subjects include but are not limited to historical aspects of automobile companies and their leaders, regulation of the auto industry, financial and economic aspects of the industry, the social effects of the automobile, highway development, environmental matters, and automotive marketing, design, engineering and safety.


A cover letter should be included stating the student’s address, school, program, advisor, and stage in studies.  The student should indicate how the paper submitted will relate to his or her professional future.  Submissions must e-mail dated by June 10, 2019.  All papers submitted will be acknowledged.


Recent Previous Award Winners:

2018 – Shuang and Adam Frost, Harvard University

2017 – No Award

2016 – Alison Kreitzer, University of Delaware

2015 – Patrick Nicolello, University of Dayton

2014 – Sarah Seo, Princeton University

2013 -- John Emerson Mohr, Auburn University

2012—Samuel Kling, Northwestern  University

2011 – Andrew Mabon, James Madison University

2010 – No award

2009 – Peter Cajka, Marquette University


Upon recommendation of the judges, the winning paper will considered for publication in the Society’s Automotive History Review.   The award consists of a plaque and a cash prize of $500.00.


Submissions should be sent to:       John Heitmann, Chair, Student Awards Committee

                                                Department of History

                                                University of Dayton                    Tel: 937-229-2803

                                                300 College Park                        Fax: 937-229-2816

                                                Dayton, OH 45469-1540                e-mail:

Contact Info: 

John Heitmann, Chair, Student Awards Committee

Department of History

University of Dayton                    Tel: 937-229-2803

300 College Park                        Fax: 937-229-2816

Dayton, OH 45469-1540                e-mail:

Contact Email: