2019 J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

Nicole Topich's picture
Subject Fields: 
Archival Science

The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommittee of the Society of American Archivists is asking you to create a nomination for the 2019 J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award.



Established in 1989, this award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs. The individual's or institution's contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity, legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work. Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond.


Eligibility: Nominees must be from outside the archives profession. Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.


Nominations should be sent through the online submission system by February 28, 2019 at https://app.smarterselect.com/programs/45853-Society-Of-American-Archivists.


Recent Winners Include:


2018: Yvonne Lewis Holley AND Brad Meltzer

2017: Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)

2016: Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ron Chernow

2015: Adrena Ifill Blagburn

2014: LGBT Center of Central PA History Project AND National History Day

2013: AARP Virginia and Dr. Warren Stewart

2012: Eve Kahn, Bebe Miller, Phillip Stewart

2011: “Who Do You Think You Are?” (NBC)

2010: The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation

2009: Ross King (Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board)