FIRST CIRCULAR: The 6th International Dharmakīrti Conference

Kyungrae Kim's picture
August 24, 2020 to August 28, 2020
Korea South
Subject Fields: 
Humanities, Philosophy, Intellectual History

The 6th International Dharmakīrti Conference

August 24-28, 2020


First Circular, November 2018


Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that the well-established tradition of International Dharmakīrti Conferences – Kyoto (1982), Vienna (1989), Hiroshima (1997), Vienna (2005), Heidelberg (2014) – will continue with the 6th International Dharmakīrti Conference in Busan (South Korea) – to be held from 24-28 August 2020.


The Conference aims to showcase current research on all aspects of Buddhist epistemology and logic in India, East Asia and Tibet from a historical, philological and/or philosophical perspective. Papers may also address aspects of the relationship between Buddhist pramāṇa and other currents of thought within Buddhism. We also welcome pertinent contributions from the broader intellectual environment. 


To facilitate participation in both conferences for scholars from overseas, the conference in Busan is scheduled for the week immediately after the IABS conference in Seoul (16-21 August 2020). The city of Busan can be easily be reached by air or ship. For those attending the IABS conference, a limousine bus for Busan will be waiting at Seoul National University, the site where this conference will be held. In addition, we shall take care to keep registration and accommodation costs as low as possible. Details will be announced in the second circular.


Further communication will take place by e-mail unless individuals specifically request otherwise. Please contact Dr. Kyungrae Kim ( if you wish to be contacted at an e-mail-address other than the one we have used to dispatch this circular.




1 March 2019                   Second circular, opening of online registration system             

1 October 2019                Deadline for registration

1 January 2020                 Deadline for submission of paper/panel abstracts

1 May 2020                      Third circular

24-28 August 2020           Conference


Honorary Chairs

• Shōryū Katsura 

• Ernst Steinkellner


Academic Committee

• Kei Kataoka 

• Birgit Kellner

• Motoi Ono

• Parimal Patil


Planning Committee

• Jeson Woo

• Kameron Bailey 

• Hyongchol Kang

• Kyungrae Kim



Please direct all communication pertaining to the organization of the conference to:

Prof. Jeson Woo (

Department of Buddhist Studies

Dongguk University

30 Pildong-ro 1-gil, Jung-gu,

Seoul, 04620, Republic of Korea.

Phone: +82(0)2-2260-3134