A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize (Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies)

Kirsten Schultz's picture
February 1, 2019
Subject Fields: 
Atlantic History / Studies, Early Modern History and Period Studies, European History / Studies, Spanish and Portuguese History / Studies, Modern European History / Studies


The Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies solicits submissions for the annual A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize. The A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize was created by means of a generous endowment from Dr. Harold B. Johnson, of the University of Virginia, in memory of the distinguished Portuguese historian, A. H. de Oliveira Marques (1933-2007). The prize, which carries an honorarium of $250, will be awarded each year for the best peer-reviewed article or book chapter on Portuguese history published during the previous year. This year's award will be announced at the 2019 annual meeting of the Association for Spanish and Portuguese History in Barcelona (July 10-13, 2019). Submitted articles or book chapters may be written in Portuguese, English, Castilian, Catalan, Italian, or French, but only articles on Portuguese history published within the 2018 calendar year will be considered. Authors must be active members of the ASPHS to be eligible. Authors should submit one copy of the article and a short (2-page) CV in PDF form to the prize committee via email by February 1, 2019.  Please direct queries to the chair of the prize committee.


Prize Committee:

Ricardo Roque (Instituto de Ciências Sociais, Universidade de Lisboa)

Email: ricardo.roque@ics.ulisboa.pt 


Isabel dos Guimarães Sá (Universidade do Minho)

Email: isabeldosguimaraessa@gmail.com.


Kirsten Schultz (Seton Hall University), Chair

Email: kirsten.schultz@shu.edu




Contact Email: