OAH Awards and Prizes

Kara Hamm's picture
October 1, 2018
Pennsylvania, United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies

The 2019 awards ceremony will take place at the 2019 OAH Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 46.

2019 Ray Allen Billington Prize
Given every two years for the best book on the history of native and/or settler peoples in frontier, border, and borderland zones of intercultural contact in any century to the present and to include works that address the legacies of those zones.

2019 Avery O. Craven Award
Given annually for the most original book on the coming of the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction, with the exception of works of purely military history.

2019 Merle Curti Social History Award
Given annually for the best book in American social history.

2019 Merle Curti Intellectual History Award
Given annually for the best book in American intellectual history.

2019 Ellis W. Hawley Prize
Given annually for the best book-length historical study of the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present.

2019 Darlene Clark Hine Award
Given annually for the best book in African American women's and gender history.

2019 John D'Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award
Given annually for the best PhD dissertation in U.S. LGBTQ history.

2019 Lerner-Scott Prize
Given annually for the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women’s history.

2019 Lawrence W. Levine Award
Given annually for the best book in American cultural history.

2019 Liberty Legacy Foundation Award
Given annually for the best book on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present.

2019 David Montgomery Award
Given annually with co-sponsorship by the Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA) for the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history.

2019 Mary Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History
Given for the most original book in U.S. Women's and/or Gender History (including North America and the Caribbean prior to 1776).

2019 James A. Rawley Prize
Given annually for the best book dealing with the history of race relations in the United States.

2019 Frederick Jackson Turner Award
Given annually for a first scholarly book dealing with some aspect of American history.

Contact Info: 

Committee Coordinator
Organization of American Historians
112 North Bryan Avenue
Bloomington IN 47408-4141

Contact Email: