Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize Submissions

Diane Brennan's picture
November 1, 2017
Pennsylvania, United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Black History / Studies, Military History, Public History, Slavery

The Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize is awarded annually for the finest scholarly work in English on Abraham Lincoln, the American Civil War soldier, or a subject relating to their era.


The $50,000 prize was co-founded and endowed by businessmen and philanthropists Richard Gilder and Lewis Lehrman, principals of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History in New York and co-creators of the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the largest private archives of documents and artifacts in the nation.

Gilder and Lehrman established the Prize in 1990, together with Prof. Gabor Boritt, Director Emeritus of the Civil War Institute at Gettysburg College. Since founding the Prize in 1990, Gilder and Lehrman have bestowed some $1 million on the annual winners, including special prizes.


The Prize will generally go to a book but in rare instances an important article or essay might be honored. When studies competing for the Prize show similar scholarly merit, preference will be given to work on Abraham Lincoln, or the Civil War soldier, or work aimed at the literate general public. In harmony with the last preference, in rare instances the Prize may go to a work or works of fiction, poetry, the theatre, the arts, a film, scholarly article or editing project, provided they are true to history. In rare instances, the Prize may go to a historical project, such as an inspired conference or an editing project, such as an inspired conference or an editing project. In rare instances, the trustees may grant the award to a work or service related to Lincoln, or the Civil War soldier or their era, not included in the foregoing description.  As many as two prizes may be awarded each year. It will be awarded for works published only during the designated year of the Prize.


The Prize is intended chiefly to encourage outstanding new scholarship. Each year any work that appears during the previous year may be eligible for consideration. However, facing a lean scholarly year, the Board of Trustees may request the jury to consider work from the previous two or three years.

    Publishers, critics, and authors may submit books published in the current year by November 1.

    There is no entry fee or form.


Send six (6) copies of the nominated work to:


The Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize

300 N. Washington Street, Campus Box 413

Gettysburg, PA 17325


    For more information on the Prize please call 717-337-8255 or email

Contact Info: 

Diane C. F. Brennan, Prize Administrator

The Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize

Gettysburg College
Weidensall Hall, Gettysburg College | 300 North Washington Street | Box 413|Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone: 717.337.8255| F:  717.337.6597