Fifth annual Radomir Luža Prize

David W Wildermuth's picture
August 31, 2017
United States
Subject Fields: 
Eastern Europe History / Studies, European History / Studies, German History / Studies, Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies, Modern European History / Studies

The American Friends of the Documentation Center of Austrian Resistance/Vienna, supported by Center Austria: The Marshall Plan Center for European Studies at the University of New Orleans, are pleased to extend the deadline for the Fifth annual Radomir Luža Prize for an outstanding work in the field of Austrian and/or Czechoslovak World War II studies, particularly in the fields of diplomatic history, resistance and war studies.  This prize carries a cash award of $1000.00 and seeks to encourage research in the above mentioned fields focusing on the time period between the Anschluss and Munich Agreement (1938) and the end of the Second World War (1945) and its immediate aftermath in Central Europe.

To be eligible for the 2017 Radomir Luža Prize competition, the book or dissertation must have been published (or a dissertation defended) between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016.  Authors must be citizens or resident aliens (holders of “green cards”) of the United States or Canada.  Dissertations must have been awarded by a North American University.  The language of the work must be English.

To be considered for the Radomir Luža Prize competition, please send a copy of your work electronically to:  The prize will be administered by the German Studies Association, which will appoint the prize committee.

The extended deadline for submissions is August 31, 2017.  The winner will be announced at the GSA convention in Washington, D.C., October 5-8, 2017.


Contact Info: 

David W. Wildermuth

Shippensburg University

Department of Modern Languages


Contact Email: