2017 Working Class Studies Association Awards Announced

Michele Fazio's picture
Subject Fields: 
Area Studies, Cultural History / Studies, Humanities, Labor History / Studies, Social Sciences

2017 Working Class Studies Association Awards for work produced in 2016

Each year, the Working Class Studies Association (WCSA) issues a number of awards to recognize the best new work in the field of working-class studies.  This year, they will be awarded in June 2017 at our conference which will be held this year on the campus of Indiana University, Bloomington May 31st-June 3rd, 2017.  The review process is organized by the past-president of the WCSA, and submissions are judged by a panel of three readers for each of the categories of awards.

The results are in for the annual WCSA Awards for significant contributions to working-class studies in the year 2016; the winners are listed below, along with judges’ comments. Together these books and articles demonstrate the scope and vitality of cultural and scholarly production in working-class studies, and serve as an inspiration to future work in the field.

CLR James Award for Published Book for Academic or General Audiences 

 Angela Stuesse - Scratching Out a Living: Latinos, Race, and Work in the Deep South

Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing

 David LaBounty and Tim Applegate - Workers Write: Tales From the Construction Site

John Russo & Sherry Linkon Award for Published Article or Essay for Academic or General Audiences

Diana Garvin – ‘Singing Truth to Power: Melodic Resistance and Bodily Revolt in Italy’s Rice Fields’Annali d’italianistica 34 (2016). Speaking Truth to Power from Medieval to Modern Italy

Studs Terkel Award for Media and Journalism

 Gabriel Thompson, Dark Meat

Constance Coiner Award for Best Dissertation

Jackie Gabriel - “Manufacturing Precarity: A Case Study of the Grain Processing Corporation (GPC)/United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 86D Lockout in Muscatine, Iowa”

Contact Info: 

Tim Strangleman, immediate-past president of the WCSA and 2016 awards organizer

Contact Email: