Betty M. Unterberger Dissertation Prize in Diplomatic History -- deadline 2/28/17

Amy Sayward's picture
February 28, 2017
United States
Subject Fields: 
Area Studies, Diplomacy and International Relations, Human Rights, Law and Legal History, Women's & Gender History / Studies

The Betty M. Unterberger Prize is intended to recognize and encourage distinguished research and writing by graduate students in the field of diplomatic history. The Prize of $1,000 is awarded biannually (in odd years) to the author of a dissertation, completed during the previous two calendar years, on any topic in United States foreign relations history. The Prize is announced at the annual SHAFR conference. The Prize was established in 2004 to honor Betty Miller Unterberger, a founder of SHAFR and long-time professor of diplomatic history at Texas A&M University.

Procedures: A dissertation completed in 2015 or 2016 may be submitted for consideration for the 2017 prize by the author or by the author's advisor.

To nominate a dissertation,

  • Send a letter of nomination and electronic version of the dissertation to Dr. Vanessa Walker at  no later than February 28th to be considered.
  • In addition, a hard copy of the dissertation should be sent to each of the committee members:
    --Professor Vanessa Walker; Department of History; Amherst College; Amherst, MA  01002
    --Professor Jim Meriwether; Department of History; California State University Channel Islands; 1 University Drive; Camarillo, CA  93012
    --Professor Jonathan Nashel; Department of History; Indiana University South Bend; South Bend, IN  46634
  • To be considered for the 2017 award, nominations and supporting materials must be received by February 28, 2017.
Contact Info: 

Amy Sayward, Executive Director, Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations

Contact Email: