Open Panels for the Annual international Congress of the German Middle East Studies Association (DAVO), Jena, 18-22 Sept. 2017

Guenter Meyer's picture
Type: 
Call for Papers
Date: 
September 18, 2017
Location: 
Germany
Subject Fields: 
Arabic History / Studies, Economic History / Studies, Islamic History / Studies, Middle East History / Studies, Social History / Studies

You are kindly invited to participate in the "24th International Congress of the German Middle East Studies Association (DAVO)" combined with the "33rd Deutscher Orientalistentag (DOT) / German Oriental Studies Conference of the German Oriental Society (DMG)" at the Friedrich Schiller-University in Jena (Germany) on 18-22 September 2017

Please note the following deadline for the registration of the abstracts of all papers and panels via the website of the DOT www.dot2017.de/en: 31 March 2017.

See below the titles of 19 Open Panels. Scholars interested in presenting a paper in one of the Open Panels should contact the specific organizer(s) of the panel by e-mail until 28 February 2017. The abstract of your proposed paper should not exceed 200 words.

1) The Relation between the Gulf States and the Maghreb in a Changing World Order; Organizer: Isabel Knoerrich (MENA-SEA-RESEARCH-Institute, Munich/Tunis); E-mail: isabelknoerrich@yahoo.com

  2) NGOs Intervention in the Arab Spring: Humanitarian Assistance, Peace-building and State Building; Organizer: Ibrahim Natil (Dublin City University); E-mail: dr.natil59@gmail.com

3) Syria: From Arab Spring to Civil War; Organizer: Tonia Schüller (Rheinische-Friedrich-Wilhelm Universität Bonn); E-mail: tschuell@uni-bonn.de

 4) The BDS Movement and Its Implications for Palestinian Civil Society Activism and the Israeli Economy; Organizer: Sara El-Madani (Europa-Universität Flensburg); E-mail: sara.el-madani@uni-flensburg.de

5) Tourism to and from the Arab World: Challenges, Potentials, Risks; Organizers: Nadine Scharfenort (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz) and Andreas Kagermeier (Trier University); E-mail: n.scharfenort@geo.uni-mainz.de and andreas.kagermeier@uni-trier.de

 6) Urban Economics in the Middle East: Between Theory and Practice; Organizer: Mohamed Abdel-Kader (Cairo University); E-mail: mhabdelkader@gmail.com

7) Youth Movements in the Middle East: Mobilization, Ideologies and State Building; Organizer: Ibrahim Natil (Dublin City University); E-mail: dr.natil59@gmail.com

8) Universities in Africa and Asia: Exploring Contradictory Functions under Changing Conditions; Organizers: Daniele Cantini and Jonathan Kriener (Orient-Institut Beirut); E-mail: cantini@orient-institut.org and kriener@orient-institut.org

9) Arab Media and Cultural Studies: Methodological and Theoretical Approaches to Cross-media Practices; Organizer: Bettina Gräf (Zentrum Moderner Orient, Berlin); E-Mail: bettina.graef@zett.org

10) Iranian Cinema: Past and Present; Organizer: Farshad Zahedi (University Carlos III de Madrid); E-mail: fzahedi@hum.uc3m.es

11) Branding the Middle East, Organizer: Steffen Wippel (Philipps-Universität Marburg); E-mail: steffen.wippel@uni-marburg.de

12) Middle Eastern Materialities; Organizer: Stefan Maneval (Europa-Universität Flensburg); E-mail: stefan.maneval@uni-flensburg.de 

13) Imaginations of the Unborn in the Intellectual History of the Middle East, North Africa and al-Andalus; Organizer: Thomas Eich (University of Hamburg); E-mail: thomas.eich@uni-hamburg.de

14) Becoming Modern: Conceptual Transformations in the Middle-Eastern saddle period; Organizers: Florian Zemmin and Christoph Ramm (University of Bern); E-mail: christoph.ramm@islam.unibe.ch and florian.zemmin@islam.unibe.ch

15) Towards Critical Iranian Studies (II): New Perspectives on Post-Revolutionary Iran; Organizer: Ali Fathollah-Nejad (German Council on Foreign Relations, Berlin); E-mail: afn@alumni.soas.ac.uk

16) How to Revive Economic and Human Development in the MENA Region?; Organizers:  Markus Loewe (German Development Institute, Bonn), Sabine Hofmann (ZEDAT, Freie Universität Berlin) and Juliane Brach (Hochschule Bremen); E-mail: markus.loewe@die-gdi.de, shofmann@zedat.fu-berlin.de and juliane.brach@hs-bremen.de

17) Defining a New Social Contract for Fragile and Conflict-affected MENA Countries; Organizer: Mark Furness (German Development Institute, Bonn); E-mail: mark.furness@die-gdi.de

18) The Balfour Declaration - A Centenary Consequences and Challenges; Organizer: Detlev Quintern (Sultan Fatih Mehmet Vakıf University, Istanbul); E-mail: detlevquintern@googlemail.com

19) Towards Conneting Urban Policy Making and Implementation in the Arab World; Organizer: MennatuAllah Mohamed Hendawy (Ain Shams University, Cairo); E-mail: hendawyy@gmail.com

For further information on the Congress see www.dot2017.de/en

 

Contact Info: 

Prof. Dr. Guenter Meyer, Center for Research on the Arab World (CERAW), University of Mainz, German Middle East Studies Association (DAVO)

Contact Email: