Call for Contributions: Non-monogamies and Contemporary Intimacies Conference (31 Aug–2 Sep 2017, Vienna, Austria)

Evelyn Fränzl's picture
Call for Papers
February 14, 2017
Subject Fields: 
Anthropology, Cultural History / Studies, Humanities, Social Sciences, Women's & Gender History / Studies

We warmly invite your participation in the second transdisciplinary Non-Monogamies and Contemporary Intimacies conference that is going to take place in Vienna (Austria) from 31 August to 2 September 2017.

After the success of its first instalment in Lisbon in 2015, the second Non-Monogamies and Contemporary Intimacies Conference (NMCI) aims to continue to bring together activists, artists, academics, community members, therapists/counsellors and other practitioners to meet each other and address the conditions, experiences, challenges, and opportunities involved in relationships that go beyond norms such as compulsory monogamy or compulsory (hetero)sexuality.

Considering that the conference seeks to attract academics, therapists/counsellors, activists, artists, and community members, we have decided to write two Calls for Contributions:

Academic / therapist / councellor call:
Artistic / activist / performance call:

The different calls are first and foremost intended to offer a glimpse at the different perspectives we invite for the conference. Both are addressed to anyone who wants to contribute, and the scope for potential contributions is not determined by which of the potential groups you identify with.

Contributions can be made in English or German. The deadline for submissions is 14 February 2017.

We would be grateful if, in addition to considering them yourselves, you could forward the Calls to potential participants from the various groups who may be interested in the conference.

Best wishes,
The conference organising committee

Contact Info: 

Local organizing committee: Boka En, Evelyn Fränzl, Oleksandra Kurbala, Sina Muscarina, Stefan F. Ossmann, Mercedes Pöll, Manuela Ronco, Toma Susi

International organizing committee: Brigitte Vasallo, Chris Campbell, Dawn Davidson, Dave Doleshal, Keith Brown, Sari van Anders, Meg John Barker, Maria Pallotta-Chiarolli, Anna Cooper, Nikò Antalffy, Marianne Pieper, Giazú Enciso Domínguez, Daniel Cardoso

Contact Email: