Trade, Governance and Empire: The History of the East India Company

Laura Canfield's picture
Type: 
Event
Date: 
January 25, 2017
Location: 
United Kingdom
Subject Fields: 
British History / Studies, Business History / Studies, Chinese History / Studies, Asian History / Studies, South Asian History / Studies

Join us on Wednesday 25th January for a special webinar taking a look at the history of the East India Company.

25th January 2017
7am PST / 8am MT / 9am CST / 10am EST / 3pm GMT

Using recently digitised documents from the India Office Records housed at the British Library in London, we'll explore the origins of the Company by Royal Charter, its dominance over global trade for over 200 years and the foundations of the British Raj in India.

We will be joined by:

  • Head of India Office Records, Penny Brook, from the British Library
  • Lead Curator of the East India Company Archive, Margaret Makepeace, from the British Library
  • Dr Kate Boehme, University of Sussex

Please visit this link to register and receive access details: http://www.amdigital.co.uk/m-products/product/east-india-company/webinar/ 

Contact Email: