3rd International Conference on Science and Literature, 2nd CfP

George Vlahakis Announcement
Subject Fields
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology, Literature, Social Sciences, Humanities, Women's & Gender History / Studies

The 2nd Call for Papers for the 3rd International Conference on science and Literature organized by the Commission on Science and Literature DHST/IUHPST, the Sorbonne Université - Faculté des Sciences et Ingénierie and the Hellenic Open University, Paris, 2-4 July 2018.

Following the successful two International Conferences on Science and Literature which took place in Athens and Poellau this Conference is the third to be organized under the aegis of the Commission on Science and Literature DHST/IUHPST. The third International Conference will be co-organized by the   Sorbonne Université - Faculté des Sciences et Ingénierie with the support of the Hellenic Open University. As it was the case with the first two Conferences, the third one does not have a specific theme, as its intent continues to be the creation of an open forum for all scholars interested in Science and Literature, thus bringing into the dialogue multiple perspectives. Nevertheless, the Conference will be organized along thematic sessions, according to the papers which will be accepted by the Scientific Committee.

Proposals for individual papers or panels of three or four papers should be submitted from 1st December until the 10th of March 2018. They must include the title of the paper (or the theme of the panel), name and affiliation of the author(s), an abstract of no more than 350 words and a short CV of up to five lines.

Proposals and inquiries about practical matters may be sent to  gvlahakis@yahoo.com and konstantinos.tampakis@gmail.com

The international scientific committee will review the submissions and notice of acceptance will be sent until 20th of March.

Prof. Pauline Lescar will be the chair of the Local Organizing Committee and member of the Scientific Committee.


Members of the Scientific Committee:


Pauline Lescar, Sorbonne Université - Faculté des Sciences et Ingénierie

John Holmes, University of Birmingham

Klaus Mecke, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, ELINAS David  Aubin, Sorbonne Université

Laurence Dahan Gaida, Université de Franche-Comté

Alice Jenkins, University of Glasgow

Peter Middleton, University of Southampton Peter Maria Schuster, Echophysics, Austria Maria Zarimis, University of New South Wales

Aura Heydenreich, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, ELINAS Dustin Hellberg, Yonsei University

Laurence Talairach-Vielmas, Université Toulouse Jean Jaurès

Michelle Faubert,  University of Manitoba

  Vanessa Costa E. Silva Schmitt, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul

Ma Liping, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Kostas Tampakis, National Hellenic Research Foundation

George N. Vlahakis, Hellenic Open University

Argyro Loukaki, Hellenic Open University

Efthymios Nicolaidis, National Hellenic Research Foundation

Venue of Conference:   Sorbonne Université - Faculté des Sciences et Ingénierie. place Jussieu, 75005 Paris.

Registration:  1st   February 2018 to May 30th 2018

Registration fees (include coffee, tea, refreshments and Conference material): 120 Euros

Fees for students and early career scholars: 50 Euros

The fees have to be transferred to the following bank account:

Georgios Vlachakis

Name of the Bank: EUROBANK

account number: 0026.0268.45.0200207964

IBAN: GR5502602680000450200207964


Participants are asked to make their own arrangements concerning their accommodation in Paris but the organizers may send to the participants a list of hotels located close to the conference venue.

Contact Email