Parker-Schmitt Prize for Dissertation in History

Ann Allen's picture
August 1, 2016
United States
Subject Fields: 
European History / Studies

Parker-Schmitt Dissertation Award

The European History Section of the Southern Historical Association is pleased to announce the biennial competition for Parker-Schmitt Dissertation Award. Named for Harold Parker, long-time professor of French history at Duke University, and Hans Schmitt, who taught German history at several institutions before completing his career at the University of Virginia, the Award is given in even–numbered years to the best Ph. D. dissertation in European history nominated by a faculty member at a Southern university (the term “Southern” should be broadly construed) or by a member of the European History Section.

The award of $250 will be presented at the EHS luncheon at the SHA meeting in St. Pete Beach, Florida this November. Eligible dissertations must have been defended between 1 August 2014 and 31 July 2016. Criteria for selection include quality and originality of research, new and stimulating interpretations and insights, and literary quality.

Recommendations of eligible theses should be sent to the chair of the committee by 1 August 2016. Recommenders are responsible for ensuring that each committee member receives a hard copy of the dissertation sent by that date.

2016 Parker Schmitt Simpson Chair: Ann Taylor Allen, 2152 Lowell Avenue, Louisville, KY 40205,

Steven Reinhardt, Department of History, University of Texas at Arlington   (please note that this is the correct spelling of the email address)

Samuel Pierce, Department of History, Univ. of South Carolina - Aiken


Contact Info: 
Professor Ann T. Allen, Professor Emerita
University of Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky 40292
Contact Email: