Call for Nominations for Baker-Burton First Book Award in European History

Erin Hochman's picture
August 1, 2023
Texas, United States
Subject Fields: 
Ancient History, Early Modern History and Period Studies, European History / Studies, Medieval and Byzantine History / Studies, Modern European History / Studies

The Baker-Burton Award was created in 2005 and is named for two distinguished scholars, Professor Vaughan Baker Simpson of the University of Louisiana Lafayette, and University of Akron Professor Emerita June K. Burton. The award is given by the European History Section of the Southern Historical Association for the best first book in European history by a member of the Section or a graduate student or a faculty member of a Southern college or university. “European” is defined as encompassing the entire continent, including Russia and the British Isles, from pre-history to the present.

The award is given in odd years and carries a cash value of $250. Books published between August 1, 2021 and July 31, 2023 are eligible for consideration. Criteria for selection include quality and originality of research, new and stimulating interpretations and insights, and literary quality. Eligible books may be recommended to the chair of the Baker-Burton Committee by their authors or by any member of the Section. The person making the recommendation is responsible for ensuring that each committee member receives a copy no later than August 1, 2023.  If you have any questions, please contact the chair of the committee, Erin Hochman, at

Please send a copy of the book to:

Erin Hochman
Clements Dept. of History
PO Box 750176
Southern Methodist University
Dallas, TX 75275
Trish Starks
419 Main
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Amy Froide
History Department
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
Contact Info: 

Erin Hochman

Contact Email: