Call for Nominations for the George Urdang Medal

Dennis Birke's picture
June 1, 2023
United States
Subject Fields: 
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology, Public Health, Health and Health Care

The American Institute for the History of Pharmacy is accepting nominations for the George Urdang Medal. The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 1, 2023.

The George Urdang Medal recognizes the lifetime achievements of a person who, over a sustained period, has made important scholarly contributions to the field of the history of pharmacy and pharmaceuticals. The George Urdang Medal is awarded without regard to citizenship or nationality.

The award honors Professor George Urdang (1882-1960), a pioneering historian of pharmacy in Germany and the United States, the founding Director of AIHP, and the founder of the first American graduate program in the history of pharmacy.

A panel of historians will evaluate nominations on the basis of the nature and significance of the nominee’s scholarly contributions to the field of the history of pharmacy and pharmaceuticals, and the span of time over which those contributions were made. Contributions to the field may include (without limitation) scholarly publications, exceptional service to professional organizations, dedicated work for scholarly or popular publications, outstanding contributions to education, and/or significant achievements in the collection and preservation of historical sources or collections.

Nominations for the George Urdang Medal must include at least one letter of nomination outlining the nominee’s scholarly contributions to the field. Nominations must also include the nominee’s curriculum vitae (or similar biographical information) and any documents or other supporting materials for the panel to consider. Please email nominations to

AIHP expects to announce the recipient of the 2023 George Urdang Medal in the fall. Further information about the George Urdang Medal, including a listing of past recipients, is available on AIHP’s website.

AIHP originally established the George Urdang Medal in 1952. Prior to 2021, the Urdang Medal recognized a scholarly publication in the field of pharmacy history that exhibited superior quality and distinctive significance.

Contact Info: 

Dennis Birke
Executive Director
American Institute of the History of Pharmacy

Contact Email: