Anna  Drogosz's picture
Call for Papers
April 15, 2016
Subject Fields: 
Linguistics, Languages, Literature, Film and Film History

Department of English Philology at the University of Warmia and Mazury, Olsztyn, Poland, is pleased to launch a Call for Papers for the 2016 Annual Conference of the Polish Cognitive Linguistics Association.

  • Venue: Faculty of Humanities, University of Warmia and Mazury, Olsztyn, Poland
  • Conference languages: English and Polish
  • Form of presentation: a 20-minute paper presentation followed by a 10-minute discussion
  • Deadline for proposals: April 15, 2016
  • Conference fee: 
  • Faculty members: 130 EUR; PhD students: 100 EUR

Plenary speakers:

  • Prof. Zoltan Kövecses (Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary)
  • Prof. Esa Itkonen (Turku University, Finland)
  • Prof. Bogusław Bierwiaczonek (Jan Długosz University, Częstochowa, Poland)

Submission of abstracts

Please send your abstract (doc or docx) to the conference e-mail .

Please use the registration form available on our website

The abstract (200-300 words) should specify the research scope and objective, the adopted methodology and expected results.

We invite a broad range of papers within the discipline of Cognitive Linguistics and related fields. The topics below should be seen as an inspiration and not as a limitation in the scientific enterprise:

  • Conceptual blending
  • Language and the mind
  • Cognitive linguistics and translation
  • Cognitive linguistics from the pedagogical perspective
  • Categorization in language
  • Cognitive linguistics and text analysis
  • Cognitive cultural linguistics/ ethno-linguistics
  • Cognitive theory of film
  • Cognitive linguistics and discourse analysis
  • Conceptual metaphor and metonymy
  • Metaphor in scientific discourse
  • Force-dynamics model
  • Perspectivization
  • Cognitive poetics
  • Cognitive semantics
  • Cognitive sociolinguistic
  • Embodiment (including extended and/or social embodiment)

Notification of acceptance by the Scientific Committee will be sent by May 31, 2016

Bank account number will be provided on our web page.

Organizing Committee:

Head: Prof. Ewa Kujawska-Lis

Organizing Committee Members

For more information and updates, go to

Contact Info: 

Anna Drogosz, University of Warmia and Mazury e-mail

Iwona Góralczyk University of Warmia and Mazury e-mail

Contact Email: