Visit to a collection: Islamic manuscripts from Southeast Asia in the British Library

Dalia al-Nashar's picture
Type: 
Lecture
Date: 
October 19, 2022
Subject Fields: 
Fine Arts, Humanities, Southeast Asian History / Studies, Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Asian History / Studies

The Islamic Manuscript Association

Visit to a Collection Series

Fall 2022

Islamic manuscripts from Southeast Asia in the British Library

Wednesday, 19 October 2022 at 6am EDT / 11am BST / 12pm EET (via Zoom)

Indonesian and Arabic simultaneous interpretation will be available

 

The Asian and African Collections of the British Library hold books and manuscripts from all parts of Asia and Africa, in hundreds of different languages. From Southeast Asia, Islamic manuscripts may be written in a range of languages, including Arabic, Malay, Javanese, Bugis and Lampung, and may range in form from volumes of paper and bundles of palm leaf to concertina-shaped books written on folded strips of tree bark.

For this virtual visit, Annabel T. Gallop, Head of the Southeast Asia section at the British Library in London and member of the Board of Directors of The Islamic Manuscript Association, will present highlights of the British Library Collection of Islamic manuscripts from Southeast Asia

This talk is moderated by Walid Ghali, Associate professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies, Head of the Aga Khan Library and member of the Board of Directors of The Islamic Manuscript Assocaition.

For registration: https://us06web.zoom.us/.../reg.../WN_VWfr-PLDQHm6zdb71R3IeQ

For more Information: https://www.islamicmanuscript.org/visit-to-a-collection...