2023 International Toy Research Association Prize for Outstanding Toy Research

Greta Pennell's picture
December 31, 2022
Subject Fields: 
Anthropology, Childhood and Education, Cultural History / Studies, Psychology, Social Sciences

The International Toy Research Association (ITRA) invites nominations for two Outstanding Toy Research Awards to be presented at the 9th ITRA World Conference August 9-11, 2023 at The Strong National Museum of Play in Rochester, NY USA. 

One award of US$650 will be given for the best student research on toys and one award of US$1,300 to a senior scholar or practitioner on the uses, design and effects of toys. The Prize recipients will each receive a travel stipend of US$600 to present their work at the 2023 ITRA Conference. The prize was established with generous support from the British Toy and Hobby Association (BTHA). The first ITRA-BTHA Prize was awarded in July 2008 during the 5th ITRA conference in Nafplion, Greece.

Purpose:  The purpose of this award  is to recognize outstanding research in the field of toy research. To qualify for the Prize, the work must have been conducted or published since the previous ITRA Conference in 2018 and be submitted by the researcher or nominated by a member of ITRA (see below for nomination/submission details).

Eligibility: Papers, either published or unpublished, in any area of toy research, are eligible. Submissions should be in English (original or translation). Research on the uses, design, and effects of toys in child development, education, science, and medicine will be considered for the awards. Theoretical and historical papers will also be considered as long as these are linked to potential research.

Submissions of postgraduate dissertations or books are also welcome. These should be accompanied by a summary of 2500-3000 words. Hard copies of books should be provided to each prize committee member upon request.

Submissions:  ITRA Prize papers should be submitted directly to Greta Pennell (gpennell@uindy.edu) as a pdf attachment before December 31, 2022. The Awards Committee consists of Mark Allen (UK), Barry Kudrowitz (USA), Koumudi Patil (India), and Lieselotte van Leeuwen (Sweden).

Evaluation: The Awards Committee of ITRA will evaluate applications on the basis of originality, the significance of the work, creativity, methodology, clarity of presentation, and importance. A list of previous prize winners can be found here.

The 2023 ITRA prizes will be awarded at the 9th ITRA World Conference in Rochester, New York USA August 9-11, 2023. Prize recipients are expected to be available to attend the conference and present their work there.





Contact Info: 

Dr. Greta Pennell, ITRA Vice President & 2023 World Conference Chair

Contact Email: