2021 Lemkin Book Award Announcement (Institute for the Study of Genocide)

Ernesto Verdeja's picture

The Institute for the Study of Genocide (ISG) is delighted to announce the winners of the 2021 Lemkin Book Award:

Alison Crosby and M. Brinton Lykes, for their book, "Beyond Repair? Mayan Women's Protagonism in the Aftermath of Genocidal Harm" (Rutgers University Press, 2019).

The biennial award recognizes the best non-fiction book published in English or translated into English that focuses on the causes, prevention, response, or consequences of genocide and mass atrocities. The ISG is a non-profit human rights organization working for nearly forty years to promote and disseminate scholarship and policy analysis on  genocide and mass atrocities.

The Lemkin Book Award committee, composed of an interdisciplinary group of scholars in the field of genocide studies, read over sixty books published in 2019 and 2020, and selected "Beyond Repair?" for its methodological rigor, clarity of argument, and sophisticated analysis of the ways in which Mayan women have sought redress for the genocidal violence carried out by the Guatemalan state.

Past winners of the Lemkin Book Award have included Geoffrey Robinson,
Benjamin Madley, Mark Levene, Yang Jisheng, Emma Gilligan, Darius
Rejali, Donald Bloxham, Peter Balakian, Samantha Power, and Alison Des

An award event and public lecture will be held at the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law in New York City in fall 2021. Details will be forthcoming.

Ernesto Verdeja
Executive Director
The Institute for the Study of Genocide

Associate Professor of Political Science and Peace Studies
University of Notre Dame

Follow us:
Twitter: @StudyOfGenocide
Facebook: @StudyOfGenocide 
Web: https://www.studyofgenocide.org