THE 2023 LEMKIN BOOK AWARD - Call for Nominations

Ernesto Verdeja Discussion

Institute for the Study of Genocide

The Institute for the Study of Genocide (ISG) Lemkin Award honors Raphael Lemkin, the originator of the concept of genocide and first exponent of a United Nations Genocide Convention. The biennial award recognizes the best non-fiction book published in English or translated into English that focuses on the causes, prevention, response, or consequences of genocide and mass atrocities.

The 2023 award cycle covers books published in 2021 and 2022. We are
now accepting nominations *only* for books published in the 2022 calendar
year (January 1st-December 31, 2022).

The award consists of a citation and the winner is invited to deliver a public address in New York City at a meeting convened by the Institute in fall 2023.

Learn more about the Institute for the Study of Genocide here:

Nomination Instructions:

1. We are accepting books published in the 2022 calendar year
(January 1-December 31, 2022).

2. Publishers may nominate multiple books.

3. We accept nominations from any discipline or field, but edited volumes, memoirs, poetry, fiction, drama, graphic novels, and photography books are excluded.

4. Nominated books must be received by February 1, 2023.

5. Prior to sending books, please contact Ernesto Verdeja
( to confirm their eligibility.

The current (2021) award winner is:

Alison Crosby and M. Brinton Lykes, ""Beyond Repair? Mayan Women's Protagonism in the Aftermath of Genocidal Harm" (Rutgers, 2019)

Previous winners are:

2019: Geoffrey Robinson, "The Killing Season: A History of the Indonesian Massacres, 1965-66" (Princeton, 2018)

2017: Benjamin Madley, "An American Genocide: The United States and the
California Indian Catastrophe" (Yale, 2016)

2015: Mark Levene, “The Crisis of Genocide,” 2 vols. (Oxford, 2014)

2013: Yang Jisheng, “Tombstone: The Great Chinese Famine 1958-1962”
(Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2012).

2011: Emma Gilligan “Terror in Chechnya: Russia and the Tragedy of
Civilians in War" (Princeton, 2009)

2009: Darius Rejali "Torture and Democracy" (Princeton, 2007)

2007: Donald Bloxham "The Great Game of Genocide: Imperialism,
Nationalism, and the Destruction of the Ottoman Armenians" (Oxford,

2005: Peter Balakian "The Burning Tigris: The Armenian Genocide and
America's Response" (Harper Collins, 2003)

2003: Samantha Power "A Problem From Hell: America and the Age of
Genocide" (Harper Perennial, 2002)

2000: Alison Des Forges "Leave None to Tell the Story: Genocide in
Rwanda" (Human Rights Watch and FIDH, 1999)

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.
Many thanks,

Ernesto Verdeja

2023 Raphael Lemkin Book Award Committee Chair
Executive Director, Institute for the Study of Genocide


Ernesto Verdeja 

Associate Professor of Political Science and Peace Studies / Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies & Department of Political Science / University of Notre Dame / Contact and bio info:

New book: Wicked Problems: The Ethics of Action for Peace, Rights, and Justice (Oxford UP, 2022)