LECTURE> A Conversation with Prof. Sonam Kachru on his New Intellectual History, Other Lives: Mind and World in Indian Buddhism (Columbia University Press, 2021)

Nicholas Witkowski's picture

The History Division at the School of Humanities at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore presents the following virtual event as part of the History Seminar Series, co-sponsored by the Religion, Trust, and Society Initiative and South Asia Research Initiative, on December 3, 2021 at 9:00 AM Singapore Time (SGT) / 6:30 AM IST / 11:00 AM AEST and December 2 at 8:00 PM EST/ 7:00PM CST / 5:00 PM PST

Event Title: A Conversation with Prof. Sonam Kachru on his New Intellectual History, Other Lives: Mind and World in Indian Buddhism (Columbia University Press, 2021)

Sonam Kachru is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Virginia.

Human experience is not confined to waking life. Do experiences in dreams matter? Humans are not the only living beings who have experiences. Does nonhuman experience matter? The Buddhist philosopher Vasubandhu, writing during the late fourth and early fifth centuries C.E., argues in his work The Twenty Verses that these alternative contexts ought to inform our understanding of mind and world. In Other Lives: Mind and World in Indian Buddhism, Sonam Kachru takes up Vasubandhu's views. Here, in conversation with Nicholas Witkowski about Vasubandhu's work and his own, Sonam Kachru discusses Vasubandhu's views on alternating contexts of experience and the importance of cosmology as a tool of thought, among other topics involved in the study of premodern Indian Buddhist philosophy.

 

About the Speaker:

Sonam Kachru is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Virginia. He works on the history of philosophy, centering on the history of Buddhist philosophy and literature in premodern South Asia. Topics of particular interest to him include the philosophy of mind (consciousness, attention, imagination), metaphysics, and philosophical anthropology, particularly having to do with the epistemic, existential and moral fragility of persons. Other Lives: Mind and World in Indian Buddhism is his first book.

 

Register for the talk here: https://www.ntu.edu.sg/soh/news-events/events/detail/2021/12/03/research-events/a-conversation-with-ntu-history-s-nicholas-witkowski-on-other-lives-mind-and-world-in-indian-buddhism

For updates on the History Seminar Series at NTU, Singapore, follow us on twitter: https://twitter.com/NTUHistory

For updates on the new History Division South Asia Research Initiative at NTU, follow us on twitter: https://twitter.com/NTUSouthAsia

For updates on the new Religion, Society and Trust Initiative at NTU, follow us on twitter: https://twitter.com/ReligionTrust

Contact Info: 

Nicholas Witkowski

Assistant Professor

History Division at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Contact Email: 

nwitkowski@ntu.edu.sg