LECTURE SERIES> Khyentse Foundation Presents the Goodman Lectures

Trent Walker's picture

Dear colleagues,

I am delighted to annouce the Goodman Lectures (「古德曼佛學講座」). Every month we will feature a lecture from one of the many Buddhist studies programs Khyentse Foundation partners with at universities in Asia, Europe, and North America. The lectures, delivered by leading scholars in the field, are intended to create a bridge between academic and nonacademic audiences, presenting bold ideas and innovative research in an accessible format. All lectures will be freely available online.

The Goodman Lectures are organized in honor of long-time Khyentse Foundation friend and advisor, Professor Steven D. Goodman (1945–2020). During his many years of service to different academic institutions and Buddhist communities, Prof. Goodman’s wisdom and humor buoyed his students and colleagues. His commitment to making the fruits of Buddhist studies available to a broad audience was unshakeable. The Goodman Lectures are inspired by Steven’s enduring vision of making academic talks sponsored by Khyentse Foundation available to all. 

Details and a registration link for each talk will be announced by email and on social media near the beginning of every month. Click here to sign up to receive information from Khyentse Foundation about the Goodman Lectures and other news, or visit https://khyentsefoundation.org/events/

The first lecture, “Reason and Revelation in Buddhism," will be delivered by Donald S. Lopez, Jr., the Arthur E. Link Distinguished University Professor of Buddhist and Tibetan Studies at the University of Michigan on Saturday, June 12, 2021 [10:00 EDT; 16:00 CET; 19:30 IST; 22:00 CST]. The lecture will be introduced by Dzongsar Khyentse Rinpoche. Click here to register.

Upcoming Goodman Lectures in 2021–2022 include:

Prof. Shrikant Bahulkar, Savitribai Phule Pune University
Vedism and Buddhism
Saturday, July 31, 2021
10:00 EDT; 16:00 CET; 19:30 IST; 22:00 CST

Prof. Dorji Wangchuk, University of Hamburg
When Can Buddhism Be Considered Dead and When Living?
Thursday, August 19, 2021
13:00EDT; 19:00 CET; 22:30 IST; 1:00 CST August 20

Prof. Sarah H. Jacoby, Northwestern University
The Relatable and Extraordinary Life of Sera Khandro Dewé Dorjé
October 2021

Prof. Imre Hamar, Eötvös Loránd University
The Role of Samantabhadra Bodhisattva in Buddhist Practice
November 2022
10:00 EST; 16:00 CET; 20:30 IST; 23:00 CST

Prof. Peter Skilling (Bhadra Rujirathat), Chulalongkorn University
Buddhist Canons: A Survey
December 2021

Prof. Anne C Klein (Rigzin Drolma), Rice University
Being Human and a Buddha Too: Longchenpa’s Open Secret
January 2022

Dr. Eviatar Shulman, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
On Creating the Early Discourses (Suttas) of the Buddha
February 2022

Dr. Naomi Appleton, University of Edinburgh
Narrative Buddhology: Explorations of Indian Buddhist Literature
March 2022

Ven. Prof. K.L. Dhammajoti, Buddha Dharma Centre of Hong Kong
April 2022

More information on these and future lectures will be continuously updated at https://khyentsefoundation.org/the-goodman-lectures/

 

With all best wishes,

Trent Walker
Member, Khyentse Foundation Academic Development Committee
Postdoctoral Fellow, Ho Center for Buddhist Studies at Stanford
Lecturer, Department of Religious Studies, Stanford University