Announcement: Winners of the Aming Tu Prize 2020

Marcus Bingenheimer's picture

Dear Colleagues, 

On behalf of the organizing committee, it is my distinct pleasure to announce the winners of the Aming Tu Prize 2020. 

The 2020 prize has been awarded to Stefan Baums and Andrew Glass for " A Research Environment for Gāndhārī Buddhist Texts and Beyond". is an outstanding contribution to Digital Buddhist Studies. It offers editions, facsimiles, catalogs, a dictionary, and a bibliography concerning early Indian Buddhist manuscripts written in Gāndhārī, a Middle Indo‐Aryan language closely related to Sanskrit. Manuscripts in Gāndhārī and related Prakrits are the earliest material witnesses for Buddhist canonical texts. The construction, development, and maintenance of is an exemplary contribution to an open-access digital infrastructure for Buddhist Studies.

The Aming Tu Prize is awarded by the Dharma Drum Institute of Liberal Arts (DILA). It is named in honor of Professor Aming Tu (1952-2016), who was one of the founding members of the Digital Library and Museum of Buddhist Studies, co-founder and vice director of the Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association (CBETA), and PI of the Digital Database of Buddhist Tripitaka Catalogues and a host of other projects. The Aming Tu Prize is awarded every three years in recognition of an outstanding, creative contribution to Digital Buddhist Studies by one or more scholars at any stage in their career.


Best wishes,

Marcus Bingenheimer

Department of Religion, Temple University


Categories: Announcement
Keywords: Aming Tu Prize