Symposium: Sexual Violence, Medicine, and Psychiatry, 11-12 May 2021, Zoom

Rhea Sookdeosingh's picture

 

Symposium Announcement:

Sexual Violence, Medicine, and Psychiatry

11-12 May 2021

Online via Zoom

 

 

Dear Colleagues,

 

The Sexual Harms and Medical Encounters (SHaME) Project is pleased to share details of our upcoming Sexual Violence, Medicine, and Psychiatry Symposium, taking place online via Zoom on 11 May and 12 May 2021.
 

This symposium was originally planned in partnership with the Centre for the Study of Violence at the University of Newcastle, Australia, but was postponed in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. 
 

We're thrilled to be able to reconvene many of the original speakers, as well as invite new colleagues to present their work as video papers, which will be discussed during an online academic symposium. You can view the videos on our website at any time here. The speakers will convene for two roundtable discussions on the following dates and times:
 

Session 1:

Tuesday 11 May 2021 / Wednesday 12 May 2021 

15.00-17.00 BST (i.e. London, UK) 

16.00-18.00 SAST (i.e. South Africa) 

17.00-19.00 EEST (i.e. Athens, Greece)  

09.00-11.00 CDT (i.e. Milwaukee, USA) 

10.00-12.00 EDT (i.e. New Haven, USA) 

on Wednesday 12 May 2021: 

00.00-02.00 AEST (i.e. Sydney, Australia) 

02.00-04.00 NZST (i.e. New Zealand) 

 

Session 2:

Wednesday 12 May 2021  

09.00-11.00 BST (i.e. London, UK) 

10.00-12.00 SAST (i.e. South Africa) 

11.00-13.00 EEST (i.e. Athens, Greece) 

18.00-20.00 AEST (i.e. Sydney, Australia)
20.00-22.00 NZST (i.e. New Zealand) 

03.00-05.00 CDT (i.e. Milwaukee, USA) 

04.00-06.00 EDT (i.e. New Haven, USA)

 

(*time and date conversions have not been provided for all time zones. If you’re unsure what time the event will take place in your time zone, please consult timeanddate.com)

 

This event is free, but you must register in advance:

https://shame.bbk.ac.uk/events/sexual-violence-medicine-and-psychiatry-symposium/
 

A joining link will be sent to attendees prior to the events, and you're welcome to attend one or both sessions.

 

We hope you'll join us and if you have any questions, please email Dr Rhea Sookdeosingh at r.sookdeosingh@bbk.ac.uk.

 

 

All very best,

Rhea, on behalf of The SHaME Project

--
Dr Rhea Sookdeosingh
Public Engagement and Events Coordinator
Sexual Harms + Medical Encounters Research Hub
Department of History, Classics and Archaeology
Birkbeck, University of London
26 Russell Square, Roo​m B33
London WC1B 5DQ
T: 020 7631 6588
E: r.sookdeosingh@bbk.ac.uk
W: shame.bbk.ac.uk