Zoom BOOK LAUNCH: The Correspondence of Karl Heinrich Ulrichs

Douglas Pretsell's picture

Dear Colleagues

I would like to invite you to the launch of my first scholarly book “The Correspondence of Karl Heinrich Ulrichs, 1846-1894”

https://www.palgrave.com/gp/book/9783030397623

This book is a critical edition of several hundred letters to and from the lawyer and sexual reformer, Karl Heinrich Ulrichs (translated by Michael Lombardi-Nash). Covid-19 means a physical launch is not possible but on ZOOM we can make the event global.

The event will be chaired by Dr Tim Jones (Department of Archaeology and History, La Trobe University) and will include the following speakers:
Dr Sean Brady (
Department of History, Classics and Archaeology Birkbeck, University of London) will open with the main address.
Dr Douglas Pretsell (Department of Archaeology and History, La Trobe University) will then introduce three readings from Ulrichs' letters, read by the actor David Chandler.
Dr Michael Lombardi-Nash, the translator of the letters in this book and also of Ulrichs' twelve books on 'Man-manly love' will then talk about translating Ulrichs.
Finally, Dr Douglas Pretsell will close with brief remarks on the writing of the book. 


I would be delighted if you could join us, details below:

The ZOOM book launch will take place on Tuesday 23 June at the following time (timezones):
Los Angeles, San Francisco, Seattle, Vancouver – 05:00am
New York, Boston, Tonoto – 8am
London – 1pm
Berlin, Vienna, Paris – 2pm
10pm – Melbourne, Sydney

D.Pretsell@latrobe.edu.au is inviting you to a scheduled meeting.

Join from a PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://latrobe.zoom.us/j/93374279110

Or iPhone one-tap (Australia Toll):  +61280152088,93374279110#
 
Or Telephone:
    Dial: +61 2 8015 2088
    Meeting ID: 933 7427 9110
    International numbers available: https://latrobe.zoom.us/u/auwNShDLt

Or a H.323/SIP room system:
    Dial: 93374279110@zoom.aarnet.edu.au
    or SIP:93374279110@zmau.us
    or 103.122.166.55
    Meeting ID: 93374279110

Or Skype for Business (Lync):
    SIP:93374279110@lync.zoom.us

 

Categories: Announcement