Roger R. Trask Award

Benjamin Guterman's picture

The 2017 recipient of the Roger R. Trask Award is Dr. J. Samuel Walker.  A former historian of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the author of Prompt and Utter Destruction: Truman and the Use of Atomic Bombs against Japan, Dr. Walker is the author of five books on the history of regulating nuclear power, including Three Mile Island: A Nuclear Crisis in Historical Perspective and The Road to Yucca Mountain: The Development of Radioactive Waste Policy in the United States.

The Roger R. Trask Lecture and Award was established by the SHFG in 2009 to honor the memory and distinguished career of the late SHFG President and longtime federal history pioneer and mentor Roger R. Trask. The award is presented to persons whose careers and achievements reflect a commitment to, and an understanding of, the unique importance of federal history work and the SHFG’s mission.

Dr. Walker will present the lecture at SHFG’s conference on April 13, 2017, at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC.

For more program information and registration, visit