ANN: In Conversation: The Violence of Colonial Photography

Kevin Morrison's picture
The Society for Global Nineteenth-Century Studies (www.global19c.com) invites you to attend the last event of the year in our series of virtual sessions, In Conversation, which bring together authors of recently published books and discussants.
 
In Conversation: Daniel Foliard and Susie Protschky
The Violence of Colonial Photography (Manchester University Press, 2022)
 
13 December 2022

9:00 pm Paris
3:00 pm New York
2:00 pm Mexico City
10:00 pm Johannesburg
4:00 am + 1 day Shanghai
7:00 am +1 day Sydney


"The late nineteenth century saw a rapid increase in colonial conflicts throughout the French and British empires. It was also the period in which the camera began to be widely available. Colonial authorities were quick to recognise the power of this new technology, which they used to humiliate defeated opponents and to project an image of supremacy across the world.  Drawing on a wealth of visual materials, from soldiers’ personal albums to the collections of press agencies and government archives, this book offers a new account of how conflict photography developed in the decades leading up to the First World War. It explores the various ways in which the camera was used to impose order on subject populations in Africa and Asia and to generate propaganda for the public in Europe, where a visual economy of violence was rapidly taking shape. At the same time, it reveals how photographs could escape the intentions of their creators, offering a means for colonial subjects to push back against oppression."

Daniel Foliard is Professor of English Studies at Université de Paris.
Susie Protschky is Associate Professor in History at Deakin University (Melbourne, Australia) 

The Violence of Colonial Photography is a compelling account of photography as an instrument of British and French imperialisms. Mining a wide range of archival images from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Daniel Foliard offers a rich, albeit disturbing, history of how the production, dissemination and circulation of photographic depictions of symbolic and literal violence enabled and justified colonial power.’ -- Professor Ali Behdad, author of Camera Orientalis: Reflections on Photography of the Middle East

‘The photographic archives of colonial expansion and the tainted ways of looking they have engendered have never been read with such thoughtful sensitivity, compassion and insight as in this book. Foliard powerfully exposes the imbrication of the camera in colonial violence even as he enjoins us to attend with care to the brutalised bodies and, as much as possible, to the people whose images confront us in this chilling and illuminating book.’ -- Professor Marianne Hirsch, co-author of School Photos in Liquid Time: Reframing Difference

Register here