ANN (Virtual Conference): "Architecture and Democratization: Overlooked witnesses to Allied intervention in occupied Germany after 1945", 3-5 June 2021

Johanna Blokker's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Type: 
Conference
Date: 
June 3, 2021 to June 5, 2021
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Architecture and Architectural History, German History / Studies, Historic Preservation, Modern European History / Studies

Architecture und Democratization: 

Overlooked witnesses to Allied intervention in occupied Germany after 1945

3-5 June 2021 in Bamberg / online

 

In 2019 and 2020, Germany marked 70 years since its post-war division into East and West and 30 years since reunification. Both anniversaries offer renewed occasion to examine the processes that led to the creation of the two German states in 1949, together with the premises on which they were founded and which seemed vindicated in 1990: premises such as the inevitability of democracy, the value of internationalism, and the possibility of a peaceful and stable world order. Given the current questioning of these ideas not only here but throughout Europe and beyond, such a re-examination seems relevant now in a way that it has rarely been before.

 

Architecture, too, must be part of this discussion. Taking seriously the notion that "democracy must be made visible if it is to be understood and embraced" (Michael Dreyer), the first goal of the conference is to call attention to forgotten or neglected artefacts of Western and Soviet cultural-political intervention in Germany's built environment, with a view to creating a broader as well as a more detailed picture of this activity.

Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the conference will be held online as a Zoom Webinar.

Simultaneous translation of the German-language presentations into English will be offered.

 

Downloadable program

https://www.uni-bamberg.de/en/iadk/heritage-conservation-studies/confere...

 

Conference registration

By e-mail at:  konferenz.denkmalpflege@uni-bamberg.de

Participation in the conference is free of charge and open to all.


Organisation: 

PD Dr. Johanna Blokker

Chair in Heritage Sciences

Institute for Archaeology, Heritage Conservation and Art History, Bamberg University

johanna.blokker(at)uni-bamberg.de

+49 (0)951 863 2343

 

 

THURS. 3 JUNE 2021

 

16.00 CEST / 10:00 am EDT

Welcome, Greetings

Opening Address

Michael Dreyer, Institute for Political Science, University of Jena:

Orte der deutschen Demokratiegeschichte (with simultaneous English translation)

Introduction to the conference theme

Johanna Blokker, Institute for Archaeology, Heritage Conservation and Art History, Bamberg University:

Architecture and Democratization

 

17.00 CEST / 11:00 am EDT

Jane King Hession, architectural historian, Minneapolis MN: 
Prefabricated Propaganda: The “Model American Home” at the Berlin International Industrial Exhibition

 

17.30 CEST / 11:30 am EDT

Hans H. Hanke, LWL - Denkmalpflege, Landschafts- und Baukultur in Westfalen:
"Gift of Freedom": amerikanische Marshallplan-Siedlungen als Beispiele für die Neuordnung der westdeutschen Wohnkultur nach 1945
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

18.00 CEST / 12:00 pm EDT   virtual coffee break

 

18.30 CEST / 12:30 pm EDT

Michael Mönninger, Institut für Kunstwissenschaft, HBK Braunschweig: 
Zwischen Anpassung und Verweigerung. Die Rezeption amerikanischer Wohn- und Siedlungsmodelle im deutschen Wiederaufbau am Beispiel der Bauprojekte des Marshall-Plans
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

19.00 CEST / 1:00 pm EDT

Ernst-Rainer Hönes, Institut für Archäologische Wissenschaften, Universität Frankfurt: 
Erfahrungen im Kampf um die Rettung von erhaltenswerten Wohnanlagen und anderen Bauten der ausländischen Streitkräfte in Deutschland
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

19.30 CEST / 1:30 pm EDT   virtual reception

 

 

FRI. 4 JUNE 2021

 

16.00 CEST / 10:00 am EDT

Johanna Blokker, Institute of Archaeology, Heritage Conservation and Art History, Bamberg University:
"Investments in Democracy“: The Special Projects Program of the U.S. High Commissioner for Germany

 

16.30 CEST / 10:30 am EDT

Keynote:  

Greg Castillo, Department of Architecture, University of California at Berkeley:
Walter Gropius and his unrealized postwar masterplan for Frankfurt a.M. as a West German capital city

 

17.30 CEST / 11:30 am EDT   virtual coffee break

 

18.00 CEST / 12:00 pm EDT

Martina Schilling, Art Historical Institute, Free University of Berlin: 
"Ein großartiges Gegenstück zur Stalinallee": Walter Gropius' unausgeführter Entwurf für das amerikanisch geförderte "Spring-Projekt" in Berlin-Kreuzberg (1955/56)
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

18.30 CEST / 12:30 pm EDT

Christiane Fülscher, ATW Architektur Theory and Science, TU Darmstadt:
Architectural Calling Cards. Botschaften der Alliierten für das geteilte Deutschland und dessen Antworten
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

19.00 CEST / 1:00 pm EDT   virtual reception
 

 

SAT. 5. JUNE 2021

 

16.00 CEST / 10:00 am EDT

Marlen Dittmann, architectural historian, Saarbrücken:
Resonanzen: Architektur im Aufbruch zu Europa. 
Eine Ausstellung im Pingusson-Bau in Saarbrücken (with simultaneous English translation)

 

16.30 CEST / 10:30 am EDT

Fabien Bellat, Paris Val de Seine National School of Architecture:
Architecture as a Diplomatic Tool in Occupied Germany: The Soviet and French policies

 

17.00 CEST / 11:00 am EDT   virtual coffee break

 

17.30 CEST / 11:30 am EDT

Peter Leonhardt, Stadt Leipzig - Amt für Bauordnung und Denkmalpflege: 
Der Sowjetische Pavillon auf der Technischen Messe in Leipzig (1950): Geschichte und Perspektiven
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

18.00 CEST / 12:00 pm EDT

Gabriele Wiesemann, architectural historian, Bamberg: 
Der Architekt Hanns Hopp im politischen Koordinatensystem der SBZ und frühen DDR
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

18.30 CEST / 12:30 am EDT   virtual coffee break

 

19.00 CEST / 1:00 pm EDT

Monika Platzer, Az W – Architekturzentrum Wien: 
Ideologieexport. Kalter Krieg und Architektur in Österreich
 (with simultaneous English translation)

 

19.30 CEST / 1:30 pm EDT 

Closing plenary discussion

Contact Info: 

PD Dr. Johanna Blokker
Chair in Heritage Sciences
Institute for Archaeology, Heritage Conservation and Art History, Bamberg University
johanna.blokker(at)uni-bamberg.de

+49 (0)951 863 2343