ANN: CEHS Hans Rosenberg Book Prize, Deadline Extended (31 August 2020)

Benjamin Marschke's picture

The Central European History Society (CEHS) is extending the deadline for nominations for the Hans Rosenberg Book Prize. This annual prize honors the best book in central European history published in English by permanent residents of North America. This year’s award considers books with an imprint of 2019.


Central European history is understood to include all German-speaking countries as well as areas previously included within the Habsburg monarchy. The CEHS discourages submissions of reprints, second editions, multi-authored anthologies, and document publications. The award will be announced at the annual meeting of the American Historical Association in January 2021.


Nominations received by 31 August 2020 will receive full consideration.  Please send  books to each of the following three persons, and please note the changed membership of the committee (books already sent to a former committee member will be forwarded and will receive full consideration): 


Prof. James Retallack

100 Thompson Avenue

Toronto, ON

Canada M8Z 3T8


Prof. Dominique Reill

5 Island Ave., Apt. 11A

Miami Beach, FL 33139



Prof. Molly Loberg

History Department

California Polytechnic State University

San Luis Obispo, CA  93407




For further information, see

Questions? Please contact Benjamin Marschke, CEHS Director: