Call for Books: Frederick Douglass Book Prize

Michelle Zacks's picture

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History are pleased to announce the twentieth annual Frederick Douglass Book Prize, an annual award for the most outstanding non-fiction book in English copyrighted in the year 2017 on the subject of slavery, resistance, and/or abolition. Beginning on January 2, 2018, we invite you to submit books that meet these criteria. Please do not begin sending books prior to this date. The submission deadline is March 31, 2018.

Please note that works related to the Civil War are acceptable only if their primary focus relates to slavery or emancipation. Only books copyrighted in 2017 will be considered. To submit books for consideration, please send:

Two copies by courier service to:

Gilder Lehrman Center
230 Prospect Street, 3rd Floor
New Haven, CT 06511
Phone: 203-432-3339
(Please note that the US Postal Service will not deliver to this address)

One copy to each person listed below:

Professor Catherine Clinton
Department of history—McKinney building
One UTSA Circle 
San Antonio, TX 78249
Professor Ada Ferrer
Department of History
New York University
53 Washington Square South, 4E
New York, NY 10012
Professor Sandra Greene
450 McGraw Hall
Department of History
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY  14853

Feel free to contact the Gilder Lehrman Center at with any questions.


Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition

MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale University

PO Box 208206
New Haven, CT  06520-8206