EVENT: University of Washington 9th Annual Ladino Day - Sephardic Trajectories

Makena Mezistrano's picture

How do family heirlooms, papers, and memorabilia help us conceptualize the process of migration from the Ottoman Empire to the United States? In a newly released edited volume, “Sephardic Trajectories: Archives, Objects, and the Ottoman Jewish Past in the United States” (Koç University Press, 2021) scholars of Ottoman history and Jewish studies explore this question using objects from the University of Washington's Sephardic Studies Digital Collection.

When: Sunday, December 12, 2021 - 10 am PT / 1 pm ET / 8 pm Israel / 9 pm Turkey

Where: Zoom - RSVP to receive the webinar link: https://jewishstudies.washington.edu/ladino-day/

About this event: To commemorate Ladino Day 2021, join the University of Washington Sephardic Studies Program for an interdisciplinary conversation with Devin Naar (University of Washington) and editors Oscar Aguirre-Mandujano (University of Pennsylvania) and Kerem Tınaz (Koç University). Then, hear presentations by "Sephardic Trajectories" contributors Hannah S. Pressman (Director of Education and Engagement, Jewish Languages Project), Maureen Jackson (independent scholar), and Laurent Mignon (University of Oxford) as they discuss important artifacts and their impact on Ottoman and Jewish history.

Learn more about this event and RSVP >