CFA: Leon Charney Book Award in Israel Studies

Joshua  Karlip's picture

The Yeshiva University Center for Israel Studies invites submissions for the first biannual Leon Charney Book Award in Israel Studies.  The Charney Book Prize ($3,000) will be awarded biannually to the author of an outstanding monograph dealing with the culture and history of Zionism and the State of Israel.  The recipient will be honored by Yeshiva University during the 2021/22 academic year, at which time they will be expected to deliver a lecture or research seminar (whether in person or via Zoom).  Approved travel expenses up to $2000 will be reimbursed.

Eligibility:  An academic monograph, in English or Hebrew, published between Fall, 2019 and Spring, 2021. Preference will be given to early career scholars, though all are invited to apply.  

Deadline:  Submissions must be received by May 1, 2021. The recipient and two runners up will be notified in late Spring, 2021.

When submitting a book for consideration, please have four copies sent by your publisher to:

Yeshiva University Center for Israel Studies

500 West 185th Street

New York, NY 10033.

Please email when books are placed in the mail, subject line: Leon Charney Book Award submission.

For further information, please contact Professor Joshua Karlip, Chair of the prize committee at