AWARDL 2023 Korenblat Book Award in Israel Studies

Assaf Shelleg Discussion

Thanks to the generosity of Dr. Philip Korenblar, a professor of clinical medicine at Washington University in St. Louis, The Cherrick Center for the Study of Zionism, the Yishuv, and the State of Israel can now annually award the Korenblat Book Award for the best book in Israel Studies. 

The Korenblat Book Award marks exceptional scholarly contribution in the field of Israel Studies – be it in the humanities, social sciences, or law – for eligible books published during the previous calendar year, namely 2022 (“previous year” refers to the copyright year as found on the copyright page of the book). The award will honor each year a book of outstanding merit in either Hebrew or English by scholars at all stages of their career (no membership of any kind is required). A committee consisting of scholars from various fields will accept nominations from any individual (or publishers) and will choose a single winner from among all candidates. 

Each Korenblat Book Award recipient will be given a monetary prize of $3000 and the Cherrick Center will hold a book event in the recipient’s honor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Anyone may submit a nomination. 

Nominations, including self-nominations, must be submitted by April 16, 2023.

Translation of books published prior to 2022 are not eligible, but books first printed in other languages and then made available in 2022 in English or Hebrew can be submitted. Edited books, compilations, and proceedings are not eligible. 

The prize awarded: $3,000

Deadline for submission: April 16, 2023

To nominate your book for the Korenblat Book Award please fill in this online form and send two hardcopies and an electronic copy to: 

The Cherrick Center for the Study of Zionism, the Yishuv and the State of Israel, Gastar Building, The Hebrew University Of Jerusalem, Mt. Scopus 9190501, Israel.

Apply here