Thanks to the H-Diplo editing team and welcome to our new editors

Diane N. Labrosse's picture

Dear H-Diplo readers,

As we begin another academic year of H-Diplo publications, we would like to thank our incredible team of editors who are responsible for our publication program and the functioning of the list. They have made H-Diplo one of the most relevant and important open-access scholarly resources on the Internet, and the flagship list for all scholars of diplomatic history and international relations. Our subscriber base continues to expand (H-Diplo is one of the largest and most-searched H-Net lists), and our website attracts tens of thousands of visits per month, many of which involve new readers. Each year we publish close to 250 in-house publications, along with over 100 H-Diplo H-Net Reviews. We regularly review articles from Cold War History, Diplomatic History, Intelligence and National Security, International History Review, International Journal, International Security, Journal of American East Asian Studies, Journal of Cold War Studies, Journal of Transatlantic Studies, Journal of Strategic Studies, Modern American History, and Security Studies.

The H-Diplo team:

1. H-Diplo In-House Publications:

Tom Maddux (CSU Northridge, Emeritus), our prolific and indispensable senior review editor, is responsible for the vast majority of our in-house publications. Simply put, he is the backbone of our publication programme.

He works with senior review editors Diane Labrosse and Seth Offenbach (Bronx Community College). Seth, who also holds many other H-Diplo positions, is a vital member of our publication project.

Cindy Ewing (University of Toronto) joined H-Diplo earlier this year as a review editor. She has already commissioned an impressive range of reviews of books and articles and has become a valued member of the editing team.

This year we are in the process of recruiting a new roster of review editors, and are pleased to announce that Michael C. Behrent (Appalachian State University), Jon Davidann, (University of Hawai’i), Frank Gerits (Utrecht University), Georgios Giannakopoulos (Durham University), Michael E. Neagle (Nichols College), David Webster (Bishop’s University), and William Whitworth (Northeastern University) have joined us. Our goal is to maintain our level of production while expanding our reach and focus. Welcome to our new editors!

Daniel Steinmetz-Jenkins has wrapped up his review editing for H-Diplo. We wish him all the best for the future and thank him for organizing a stimulating series of discussions that featured a wide range of scholars and many important new books.

Danny will join our team of editors-at-large, Dustin Walcher (Southern Oregon University), and Yafeng Xia (Long Island University), who serve occasional advisory roles in the commissioning discussions of the H-Diplo review editors.

H-Diplo’s Journal Watch editors, Erin Black (University of Toronto), and Lubna Qureshi (Independent Scholar), along with George Fujii, provide an invaluable service to the academic community. They curate and collate our quarterly JW reports that include the tables of contents of all periodicals that are germane to the fields of diplomatic history and international relations.

The H-Diplo/ISSF project continues to expand. Its Executive Editor is Robert Jervis, who acts as a vital intellectual bridge between the worlds of history and international relations. He, Joshua Rovner (American University), Stacie Goddard (Wellesley College), Tom Maddux, Diane Labrosse, and Seth Offenbach, oversee the commissioning of reviews for the project.

Web and Production Editing:

George Fujii, H-Diplo’s Web and Production Editor, is responsible for the formatting, publication, and archiving of all of our in-house publications. George innovated our highly readable and elegant pdf publication formatting many years ago; his ability to format and publish our large catalogue undergirds the entire publication program. As always, we rely heavily on his indispensable knowledge and expertise.

2. The H-Diplo Commons:

The H-Diplo Commons, which is supported and maintained by H-Net, offers a wide range of services in addition to hosting our publications.

Our List Editors, Seth Offenbach, Christopher Ball, (Independent Scholar), and Julie Prieto (U.S. Army Center of Military History) ensure the daily smooth functioning of the list, and are responsible for posting announcements, calls for papers, queries, and conference programmes.

Every weekend Seth Offenbach publishes the reviews that he commissions as H-Diplo’s review editor for the H-Net Reviews project.

The Teaching Syllabus Archive Project allows scholars from around the world to access syllabi from a range of courses that are taught at universities and colleges. Seth Offenbach created the project, and our new editor, Andrew Szarejko, (Georgetown University) will take his place in September.  We welcome Andrew to the project and hope that our readers will work with him as he enhances and expands this important resource. Andrew is in the process of organizing a new series of discussions on teaching diplomacy that promise to add a valuable new dimension to our forums and roundtables.

3. The H-Diplo Advisory Board:

H-Diplo also very much relies upon its large and distinguished Editorial Board for its sound counsel and guidance of the list. Its members are as follows:

President of the H-Diplo Editorial Board: Elizabeth Hoffman, San Diego State University

Thomas Blanton, Director of the National Security Archive, The George Washington University

Kathleen Burk, University College London, Emeritus

Malcolm Byrne, the National Security Archive, The George Washington University

Hope M. Harrison, The George Washington University

James Hershberg, The George Washington University

William Keylor, Boston University

Fredrik Logevall, Harvard University

Thomas Maddux, California State University, Northridge, emeritus

Chester Pach, Ohio University

Priscilla M. Roberts, City University of Macau

Yone Sugita, Osaka University

Janice Terry, Eastern Michigan University, emerita

Gerhard L. Weinberg, University of North Carolina, emeritus

Odd Arne Westad, Harvard University

Thomas Zeiler, University of Colorado at Boulder

We would also like to thank Tom Blanton, Director of the National Security Archive, and Malcolm Byrne, Deputy Director and Director of Research of the National Security Archive. They have supported H-Diplo with many years of service on the H-Diplo Editorial Board, and initiated and have directed the National Security Archive’s support for the H-Diplo Managing Editor’s position for the past fifteen years.

Most importantly, H-Diplo thanks the vast global community of scholars who, year after year, write reviews for us, participate in our roundtables, subscribe to the list, and participate in its discussions. The editors very much appreciate the vital support of this community, as well as the larger circle of students, diplomats, journalists, civil servants, and other professionals who fill H-Diplo’s subscriber base.

The H-Diplo editors anticipate another stellar year.

My best regards,

Diane Labrosse, H-Diplo managing editor