Thanks to the H-Diplo editorial team and the Editorial Board

Diane N. Labrosse's picture

Dear H-Diplo readers,

As we begin another academic year of H-Diplo publications, we would like to thank our incredible team of editors, who are responsible for our publication program and the functioning of the list. They have made H-Diplo, which was founded in 1993, one of the most relevant and reliable open-access scholarly resources on the Internet, and the global flagship list for scholars of diplomatic history and international relations. Our subscriber base continues to expand (H-Diplo is one of the largest and most-searched H-Net lists), and our website attracts tens of thousands of visits per month.  Each year we publish close to 250 in-house publications, along with over 100 H-Diplo H-Net reviews. We regularly review articles from Cold War History, Diplomatic History, Intelligence and National Security, International History Review, International Journal, International Security, Journal of American East Asian Studies, Journal of Cold War Studies, Journal of Strategic Studies, and Security Studies. Our highly successful series on the Trump presidency continues to expand, as does our policy forum series on the implications of recent European elections and the populist tide.

Tom Maddux (CSU Northridge, Emeritus), our prolific and indispensable senior editor, is responsible for the vast majority of our publications. Tom works with a team of editorial area specialists: Andy DeRoche (Front Range Community College), Dustin Walcher (Southern Oregon University), and Yafeng Xia (Long Island University), along with H-Diplo’s Diane Labrosse and Seth Offenbach (Bronx Community College, City University of New York).

Our newest review editor for European history, Daniel Steinmetz-Jenkins, has vastly expanded our reach with a series of roundtables on books that might otherwise have passed notice. These roundtables are some of the most-read publications on the H-Net Commons.

As always, H-Diplo relies heavily on the knowledge and expertise of George Fujii, our Web and Production Editor, who is responsible for the formatting, publication, and archiving of all of our essays and reviews.

Our list editors, Seth Offenbach, Christopher Ball, Michael Cangemi (Connecticut College), and Julie Prieto (U.S. Army Center of Military History) ensure the daily smooth functioning of the list.

Seth Offenbach also serves as H-Diplo’s H-Net Book Review Editor. His reviews are posted every weekend. Seth also created H-Diplo’s Teaching Resource Archive, which offers open-access syllabi for a range of courses in the field.

2018 marks the eleventh anniversary of H-Diplo’s Journal Watch publication. Its editors, Erin Black (University of Toronto), Lubna Qureshi (Stockholm University), and Michael Cangemi, along with George Fujii, provide an invaluable service to the academic community. They curate and collate our quarterly JW reports that include the tables of contents of all periodicals that are germane to the fields of diplomatic history and international relations.

The H-Diplo/ISSF project continues to expand. Its Executive Editor is Robert Jervis, who acts as a vital intellectual bridge between the worlds of history and international relations. He, Tom Maddux, Joshua Rovner (American University), Diane Labrosse, Seth Offenbach, and Stacie Goddard (Wellesley College), oversee the commissioning of reviews and essays for the project.

H-Diplo very much relies upon a large and distinguished Editorial Board for its sound counsel and guidance of the list. Its members are as follows:

President of the H-Diplo Editorial Board: Elizabeth Hoffman, San Diego State University

Thomas Blanton, Director of the National Security Archive, The George Washington University

Kathleen Burk, University College London, Emeritus

Malcolm Byrne, the National Security Archive, The George Washington University

Hope M. Harrison, The George Washington University

James Hershberg, The George Washington University

William Keylor, Boston University

Fredrik Logevall, Harvard University

Thomas Maddux, California State University, Northridge, emeritus

Chester Pach, Ohio University

Priscilla M. Roberts, City University of Macau

Yone Sugita, Osaka University

Janice Terry, Eastern Michigan University, emerita

Gerhard L. Weinberg, University of North Carolina, emeritus

Odd Arne Westad, Harvard University

Thomas Zeiler, University of Colorado at Boulder

We would also like to thank Tom Blanton, Director of the National Security Archive, and Malcolm Byrne, Deputy Director and Director of Research of the National Security Archive. They have supported H-Diplo with many years of service on the H-Diplo Editorial Board, and initiated and have directed the National Security Archive’s support for the H-Diplo Managing Editor’s position for the past fifteen years.

Most importantly, H-Diplo thanks its vast global community of scholars who, year after year, write reviews for us, participate in our roundtables, subscribe to the list, and participate in its discussions. The editors very much appreciate the vital support of this community, as well as the larger circle of diplomats, journalists, civil servants, and other professionals who fill H-Diplo’s subscriber base.

The H-Diplo editors anticipate another stellar year.

My warm regards,

Diane Labrosse, H-Diplo managing editor