Barriers & Borders Online Seminar Series 2021–2022

Franziska Exeler's picture

The Joint Center for History and Economics, University of Cambridge and Harvard University, and Columbia World Projects at Columbia University are delighted to announce their new online seminar series Barriers & Borders.

The seminar puts a spotlight on exciting new research that brings sustained conceptual, analytical, and historical attention to the causes and consequences of constructing (or reconstructing) barriers and borders. Each seminar invites two authors to place their new work in conversation with ongoing debates about frontiers and borderlands; empire, state-building and geopolitics; migration and mobility; and the lived experience and impact of borders on people’s lives.

The next event on Creating Barriers: Migration, Citizenship, and the Politics of Inclusion & Exclusion with Noora Lori (Boston University) and Robtel Neajai Pailey (London School of Economics) will take place on December 2, 2021, at 9 am PST (San Francisco), 12pm EST (New York), 5pm GMT (London), 6pm CET (Paris). Please register here for the Zoom link.

 

Program

Thursday, December 2, 2021: Creating Barriers: Migration, Citizenship, and the Politics of Inclusion & Exclusion

Noora Lori (Boston University)

Offshore Citizens: Permanent “Temporary” Status in the Gulf (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019)

Robtel Neajai Pailey (London School of Economics)

Development, (Dual) Citizenship and Its Discontents in Africa. The Political Economy of Belonging to Liberia (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021)

 

Thursday, February 3, 2022:  Crossing Borders: Migration, Law, and Global Politics

Mae Ngai (Columbia University)

The Chinese Question. The Gold Rushes and Global Politics (New York: W.W. Norton & Co, 2021)

Ian Sanjay Patel (London School of Economics)

We’re Here Because You Were There: Immigration and the End of Empire (London: Verso Books, 2021)

 

Thursday, April 7, 2022: The Lived Experience of Borderlands: Border Regimes, Social Communities, and the Environment

Astrid Eckert (Emory University)

West Germany and the Iron Curtain: Environment, Economy, and Culture in the Borderlands (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2019)

Rihan Yeh (UC San Diego)

Passing: Two Publics in a Mexican Border City (Chicago University Press, 2018)

https://www.histecon.magd.cam.ac.uk/barriers/seminar.html