CEHS Rosenberg Book Prize

Benjamin Marschke's picture

The Central European History Society (CEHS) solicits nominations for the Hans Rosenberg Book Prize. This annual prize honors the best book in central European history published in English by permanent residents of North America. This year’s award

considers books with an imprint of 2017.


Central European history is understood to include all German-speaking countries as well as areas previously included within the Habsburg monarchy. The CEHS discourages submissions of reprints, second editions, multi-authored anthologies, and document publications. The award will be announced at the annual meeting of the American Historical Association in Chicago on 5 January 2019.


Nominated books should be received by 31 July 2018, by each of the following three persons:


Prof. Frank Biess

University of California
Education Abroad Program

Ehrenbergstr. 26/28

14195 Berlin


Prof. Andrea Orzoff

History Department MSC 3H

New Mexico State University

Las Cruces, NM 88003


Prof. Daniel Riches

Department of History

University of Alabama

Box 870212

Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0212



For further information, see www.centraleuropeanhistory.org

Questions? Please contact Benjamin Marschke, CEHS Director: