Announcement: Business History Conference Prizes

Carol Ressler Lockman's picture

Business History Conference (BHC) Prizes – 2020


At the Business History Conference’s annual meeting in Charlotte, NC March 12-14, 2020 officers announced the following recipients of BHC prizes

Harold Williamson Prize

The award is bestowed every two years to a mid-career scholar or scholars who has or have made significant contributions to the field of business history.


2020 recipients:

Sharon Ann Murphy, Providence College

Daniel Wadhwani, University of the Pacific


Hagley Prize

The prize is awarded jointly by the Hagley Museum and Library and the Business History Conference to the best book in business history (broadly defined).


2020 recipient:

Ai Hisano, Visualizing Taste: How Business Changed the Look of What You Eat (Harvard University Press)


2020 Finalists (in alphabetical order):

  • Amanda Ciafone, Counter-Cola: A Multinational History of the Global Corporation (University of California Press)
  • Shennette Garrett-Scott, Banking on Freedom: Black Women in U.S. Finance Before the New Deal (Columbia University Press)
  • Ai Hisano, Visualizing Taste: How Business Changed the Look of What You Eat (Harvard University Press)
  • Sarah Milov, The Cigarette: A Political History (Harvard University Press)
  • David K. Johnson, Buying Gay: How Physique Entrepreneurs Sparked a Movement (Columbia University Press)
  • Andrew Konove, Black Market Capital: Urban Politics and the Shadow Economy in Mexico City (University of California Press)
  • Jorun Poettering, Migrating Merchants: Trade, Nation, and Religion in Seventeenth-Century Hamburg and Portugal (De Gruyter)
  • Mark Rose, Market Rules: Bankers, Presidents, and the Origins of the Great Recession (University of Pennsylvania Press)
  • Heidi Tworek, News From Germany:  The Competition to Control World Communications (Harvard University Press)
  • JoAnne Yates & Craig Murphy, Engineering Rules: Global Standard Setting since 1880 (Johns Hopkins University Press)


Ralph Gomory Prize

This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate.


2020 recipient:

Heidi Tworek, News from Germany: The Competition to Control World Communications, 1900-1945 (Harvard University Press)


2020 Honorable Mention:

Herbert S. Klein and Francisco Vidal Luna, Feeding the World: Brazil’s Transformation into a Modern Agricultural Economy


Herman E. Krooss Prize

The prize recognizes the best dissertaiton in business history written in English and completed in the three calendar years immediately prior to the annual meeting.


2020 recipient:

Jessica Ann Levy, “Black Power, Inc: Global American Business and the Post-Apartheid City” (PhD History, Johns Hopkins University)

Philip Scranton Best Article Prize

This prize recognizes the author of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the best of those that have appeared in the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.


2020 recipient:

Hoi-Eun Kim, “Adulterated Intermediaries: Peddlers, Pharmacists, and the Patent Medicine Industry in Colonial Korea (1910-1945)” Enterprise and Society 20, 4 (December 2019), 939-977.

Mira Wilkins Prize

This prize, established in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best Enterprise & Society article pertaining to international and comparative business history published the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting.


2020 recipient:

Nikolas Glover, “Between Order and Justice: Investments in Africa and Corporate International Responsibility in Swedish Media in the 1960s,” Enterprise and Society 20,  2 (June 2019), 401-444,


K. Austin Kerr Prize

The prize recognizes the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference by a new scholar (doctoral student or those within three years of receiving their Ph.D). It honors K. Austin Kerr, longtime professor of history at the Ohio State University and former president of the Business History Conference.


2020 Recipient: No prize awarded


Martha Moore Trescott Prize

The Martha Moore Trescott Prize recognizes the best paper at the intersection of business history and the history of technology presented at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference.


2020 recipient:

Owen James Hyman (University of Mississippi), “Collaboration and Dispossession: The Creation of NASA’s Space Technology Laboratory”



Ryan Haddad
Department of History
University of Maryland
College Park, MD