Announcement: 2023 Business History Conference Prize Winners

PJ Neal's picture

Please join us in congratulating all the distinguished scholars winners of the 2023 Business History Conference awards. 


Alexia Yates was awarded the Harold Williamson Prize, awarded every two to three years to a mid-career scholar who has made significant contributions to the field of business history; this prize memorializes the contributions to business history of the late Harold F. Williamson. The membership is solicited for nominations. The committee's selection requires ratification by the full Board of Trustees. 2022-2023 committee


Hagley Prize in Business History, for the best book in business history (broadly defined), made possible through the generosity of the Hagley Museum and Library of Wilmington, Delaware, one of the nation's most significant research libraries dedicated to the history of business. Heidi Tworek and Mark Wilson headed the 2022-23 Hagley Prize committee.


Hannah Farber, Underwriters of the United States: How Insurance Shaped the American Founding (University of North Carolina Press, 2021)

Alejandro Gómez del Moral, Buying into Change: Mass Consumption, Dictatorship, and Democratization in Franco’s Spain, 1939-1982 (University of Nebraska Press, 2021)


Megan Elias, The Rise of Corporate Feminism: Women in the American Office, 1960-1990 (Columbia University, 2022)

Paula de la Cruz Fernández, Gendered Capitalism: Sewing Machines and Multinational Business in Spain and Mexico, 1850-1940 (Routledge, 2021)

Hannah Farber, Underwriters of the United States Shaped the American Founding (University of North Carolina Press, 2021)

Destin Jenkins, The Bonds of Inequality: Debt and the Making of the American City (University of Chicago Press, 2021)

Jennifer Kaufman-Buhler, Open Plan: A Design History of the American Office (Bloomsbury, 2020)

Ghassan Moazzin, Foreign Banks and Global Finance in Modern China: Banking on the Chinese Frontier, 1870-1919 (Cambridge University Press, 2022)

Alejandro Gómez del Moral, Buying into Change: Mass Consumption, Dictatorship, and Democratization in Franco’s Spain, 1939-1982 (University of Nebraska Press, 2021)

Chad Pearson, Capital's Terrorists: Klansmen, Lawmen, and Employers in the Long Nineteenth Century (University of North Carolina Press, 2022)

Victor Seow, Carbon Technocracy Energy Regimes in Modern East Asia (University of Chicago Press, 2021)

John Wong, Commercial Aviation and the Making of a Global Hub, 1930s–1998 (Harvard University Press, 2022)


Ralph Gomory Prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate.

Edmond Smith, Merchants: The Community That Shaped England's Trade and Empire, 1550-1650 (Yale University Press, 2021) 2022-2023 committee

Herman E. Krooss Prize,  for best dissertation in Business History, 2022-2023 committee

Adam Frost, “Speculation and Profiteering: The Entrepreneurial Transformation of Socialist China”


Philip Scranton Best Article Prize, recognizes the author or authors of an article published in Enterprise & Society judged to be the best of those that have appeared in the volume previous to the year of the BHC annual meeting. 2022-2023 committee

Philip Thai, “A Risky Business: The Tai Ping Insurance Company and Fire Insurance in China, 1928–1937.” Enterprise & Society 23, no. 1 (2022): 239–76. doi:10.1017/eso.2020.47.

Honorable mention: 

Keith D. Revell, “Regulating Resort Revelry: Alcohol, Music, and the Entertainment Market in Miami Beach, 1935–1955.” Enterprise & Society 23, no. 4 (2022): 1047–91. doi:10.1017/eso.2021.9.


Mira Wilkins Prize, established in 2009 in recognition of the path-breaking scholarship of Mira Wilkins, is awarded to the author of the best article published annually in Enterprise & Society pertaining to international and comparative business history. 2022-2023 committee

David Baillargeon, “‘Imperium in Imperio’: The Corporation, Mining, and Governance in British Southeast Asia, 1900–1930.” Enterprise & Society 23, no. 2 (2022): 325–56. doi:10.1017/eso.2020.49.

Honourable mention: 

Pablo Del Hierro and Espen Storli, “Poisoned Partnership: The International Mercury Cartel and Spanish–Italian Relations, 1945–1954.” Enterprise & Society 23, no. 3 (2022): 825–56. doi:10.1017/eso.2021.2.


K. Austin Kerr Prize, awarded for the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference by a new scholar. 2022-2023 committee.

Jeremy Goodwin, for paper: “From Economic Literacy to Entrepreneurial Literacy: The National Foundation for Teaching Entrepreneurship and Business Conservatism in the United States, 1987-1999”


Martha Moore Trescott Prize, funded by a bequest from the estate of the late Martha Moore Trescott. The prize is awarded to the best paper at the intersection of business history and the history of technology presented at the annual meeting of the Business History Conference. 2022-2023 committee.

Marina Moskowitz, “Broadcasting Seeds on the American Landscape”

Honorable mention:

Louise Karlskov Skyggebjerg, “The Can War—Everyday Business from the Perspective of the Aluminum Container”


Anne Fleming Prize, The prize is awarded every other year to the author or authors of the best article published in the previous two years in either Law and History Review or Enterprise and Society on the relation of law and business/economy in any region or historical period. It is awarded on the recommendation of the editors of the Law and History Review (the official journal of American Society of Legal History) and Enterprise and Society (the official journal of Business History Conference). 


Casey Marina Lurtz, "Codifying Credit: Everyday Contracting and the Spread of the Civil Code in Nineteenth-Century Mexico," Law and History Review 39, no. 1 (2021): 97-133.

Paolo Di Martino, Mark Latham, and Michelangelo Vasta, "Bankruptcy Laws around Europe (1850-2015): Institutional Change and Institutional Features," Enterprise & Society 21, no. 4 (2020): 936-990.

Categories: Announcement
Keywords: BHC, Prize Winners