Programme de la 4e Conférence Internationale de l'Institut de Dakar/The Dakar Institute 4th International Conference Program

Ibra Sene's picture

Bridging the Gap: Black Studies Across Social, Geographical, Epistemic, and Linguistic Lines

“Combler le Gap: Les Black Studies sous l’angle social, géographique, épistémologique et linguistique”

 

6-7 juillet 2018/July 6-7, 2018
Dakar, Sénégal

 

 

Centre de Recherche Ouest Africain (CROA)/West African Research Center (WARC)

Rue E x Léon Gontran Damas, Dakar, Sénégal

 

 

 

 

PARTENAIRES/PARTNERS

 

Université Cheikh Anta Diop

Centre de Recherche Ouest Africain

Department of Sociology, Psychology and Social Work, University of the West Indies, Mona, Jamaica

 

 

FRIDAY, JULY 6th

 8:30-8:50 | Opening Ceremony  

 

Ousmane Sene

Directeur, The West African Research Center

 

Ibra Sene

President, The Dakar Institute of African Studies

 

Organizing Committee

Cheikh Thiam, The Ohio State University/The Dakar Institute of African Studies

Moji Anderson, University of the West Indies

Amadou Ba, Université Cheikh Anta Diop

Saliou Dione, Université Cheikh Anta Diop

Ibrahima Niang, Université Cheikh Anta Diop

 

8:50-10:20 | Panel 1: New Perspectives on Negritude

 

Chair: Ibra Sene, The College of Wooster/The Dakar Institute of African Studies, isene@thedakarinstitute.com

 

Time for a Philology of World Literature- Negrismo, Harlem Renaissance and Négritude(s) revisited

Lucia Weiß, Freie Universität Berlin, luciaweiss@posteo.de

 

Is Negritude Dead? Reflections on Black Panther and Maryse Condé

Jonathon Repinecz, George Mason University, jrepinec@gmu.edu

 

Negritude is not Dead! For an Africentered Renaissance of Senghor’s Philosophy 
Cheikh Thiam, The Ohio State University/ The Dakar Institute of African Studies, cthiam@thedakarinstitute.com

 

10:20-10:30 | Coffee Break

10:30-12:00 | Panel 2: Blurring Borders: Academia, Academic Discourse, and Knowledge Production in Black Studies

 

Chair: Oumar Sarr, Pace University/The Dakar Institute of African Studies, osarr@thedakarinstitute.com

 

The Role of the Diaspora in the Revitalization of Senegalese Higher Education

Ibra Sene, The College of Wooster/The Dakar Institute of African Studies, isene@thedakarinstitute.com

 

The Géwël Tradition Project- A Dialogue Between Two Ways of Knowing  At the Intersection of the Academy and an African Community

Robert Bellinger, Suffolk University, rbellinger@suffolk.edu

 

The Ontological Status of Blackhood as a Socio-philosophical Category in Contemporary Academic Discourse

Malesela John Lamola, University of Fort Hare, jlamola@mweb.co.za

 

12:00-12:10| Coffee Break

12:10-13:40 | Panel 3: Decolonial Epistemologies and Black Presence in a Pluriversal World

 

Chair: Saliou Dione, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, salioudione@hotmail.com

 

Engaging Non-Europhone Intellectuals in African Studies- The Case of Ajami Scholars

Fallou Ngom, Boston University, fngom@bu.edu

 

Entre Europe, Afrique et Amérique - des saviors connectés. Construction et circulation des savoirs biomédicaux sous la colonisation (Sénégal, 1870-1945)

Mor Ndao, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, morndao@gmail.com

 

The ethical Imperative to Rethink the Problem of Representation of Epistemologies in Universities

Mogobe B. Ramose, University of South Africa, tanella@mweb.co.za

 

13:40-15:00 | Lunch Break

15:00-17:00 | Panel 4: Coloniality, Post-coloniality, and Decolonial Imperatives

 

Chair: Cheikh Thiam, The Ohio State University/The Dakar Institute of African Studies, cthiam@thedakarinstitute.com

 

A Postcolonial ‘Tale of Two Cities’- Urban Politics and Literature in Algiers and Dakar

Imane Terhmina, Yale University, imane.terhmina@yale.edu

 

Construct Translation, Humanomics and Livelihood Options in Colonial Lagos

Tunde Decker, Osun State University, tundedecker@gmail.com

 

De-colonizing ‘Mariage Mixte’

Luz Colpa, Columbia University, tinic1108@aol.com

 

Teaching Black Studies outside of the Classroom- Exploring Walter Rodney’s Pedagogic Approach to Popularizing Black Studies in Jamaica Fifty years ago

Michael Barnett, University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, michael.barnett@uwimona.edu.jm

 

17:00-18:30 | Panel 5: Django Praxis: Black Students' Resistance, Reclamation, and Revelations at a Midwest Jesuit Institution

 

Chair: Kyra Shahid, Xavier University, shahidk@xavier.edu

 

Eseoghene Obrimah

Adrian T. Parker Jr.

Taylor Zachary

Diamond S. Brown

 

SATURDAY, JULY 7th

 

8:30-10:30 | Panel 6: Black Studies, Blackness, and the Question of “Race” in Africa

 

Chair: Jemima Pierre, University of California Los Angeles, pierrej@ucla.edu

 

Becoming Diasporically African: Capoeira and Racial Self-Making in West Africa

Celina de Sá, Dartmouth College, celina.a.de.sa.gr@dartmouth.edu

 

Between Black and White Africa: Mapping a New Nation in South Sudan

Zachary Mondesire, University of California Los Angeles, zcpmondesire@ucla.edu

 

The African Origines of Racial Capitalism

Peter James Hudson, University of California Los Angeles, pjhudson@ucla.edu

 

Colonialism’s Returns: On Racial Capitalism and Resource Extraction in Ghana

Jemima Pierre, University of California Los Angeles, pierrej@ucla.edu

 

10:30-10:40 | Coffee Break

10:40-12:40 | Panel 7: Teaching and Reconnecting Africa to its Diaspora…
 

Chair: Amadou Ba, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, amadoli@yahoo.com

 

Africa and its Diaspora: Being, Be-Coming and Be-Longing

Saliou Dione, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, salioudione@hotmail.com

 

Remixing Black Studies, Engaging Narratives of the New Global African Diaspora

Emilie N. Diouf, Brandeis University, diouf@brandeis.edu

 

Towards a Periodization of Pan-Africanism

Bamba Ndiaye, University of Louisville, cheikh.ndiaye@louisville.edu

 

Migration and the Black Diaspora

Maik Nwosu, University of Denver, Colorado, maik.nwosu@du.edu

 

12:40-13:40 | Lunch Break

13:40-15:40 | Panel 8: Language, Literature, and Resistance in Africa and its Diasporas

 

Chair: Barrel Gueye, Université Cheikh Anta Diop/The Dakar Institute of African Studies, bgueye@thedakarinstitute.com

 

The Crisis of Language- CEDDO and the Politics of Orthography in Post-Independence Senegal

Anish Gawande, Columbia University, anish.gawande@columbia.edu

 

Africanism, Oral, and Aural Aesthetics in Toni Morrison and Ralph Ellison’s narratives.

Ousseynou Sy, CESAG, ousseynousy2002@yahoo.fr

 

Connections in Color- Aminata Sow Fall the blended resistance

Korka Sall, University of Massachusetts Amherst, ksall@english.umass.edu

 

Sublime Blackness: Africa and Narratives of Liberation in Rider Haggard and W.E.B. Du Bois

S. N. Nyeck, University of Amsterdam, sngonye1@g.ucla.edu

 

15:40-17:40 | Panel 9: Africa, the African Diaspora, and their Glocal Connections

 

Chair: Mamadou Moustapha Ly, University of Denver, mamadou.ly@du.edu

 

Testing the Efficacy of Ali Al'amin Mazrui's Complete Humanity Gender Theory through a Qualitative Analysis of the Ongoing Quest for Gender Mainstreaming in Senegalese Politics

Anta Sane, Independent Scholar, antasane@yahoo.com

 

Recalibrating Criminology- A Critical Engagement with Western Corporate Offenses in Nigeria

Ifeanyi Ezeonu, Brock University, iezeonu@brocku.ca

 

Les études africaines dans les universités chinoises et la question raciale : Comment dépasser les clichés et stéréotypes sur les noirs

Ibrahima Niang, Université Cheikh Anta Diop, xalilniang@gmail.com

 

Framing Black Studies in the African World: The Field, Praxis, and the Future

Jemadari Kamara, University of Massachusetts Boston, adjarra@yahoo.com

 

17:40-18:50 | Special Session and Performance

A Reading of Antigone in Creole by Félix Morisseau-Leroy J. Pierre


 
Chair: Tom Hawkins, The Ohio State University, hawkins.312@osu.edu

 

18:50-19:30 | Closing Ceremony

The Dakar Institute of African Studies

The Local Organizing Committee

The West African Research Center