SAWH announces Book and Article Prizes for 2020

Diane Sommerville's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

May 1, 2021
New York, United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, Women's & Gender History / Studies, Race / Ethnic Studies, Sexuality Studies, Ethnic History / Studies



The Southern Association for Women Historians (SAWH) invites nominations for two book prizes and an article prize.


The Julia Cherry Spruill Prize is awarded annually to the best monograph on southern women's history published during the previous year. Submissions will close on May 15 for books published in the previous calendar year. One hard copy (not a PDF) should be mailed to each of the committee members. Please email the president of the SAWH, Diane Miller Sommerville, to obtain the mailing addresses of the members at


Spruill Prize Committee Members

Chair, Dr. Lisa Tendrich Frank

Professor Natalie Ring

Professor Honor Sachs


The Willie Lee Rose Prize is awarded annually for the best monograph in southern history authored by a woman. Submissions will close on May 15 for books published in the previous calendar year. Please send one hard copy (not a PDF) to each of the committee members below:


Chair, Professor Pippa Holloway

History Department

Sarah Brunet Hall

206 Richmond Way

University of Richmond

Richmond, VA 23173


Professor Jeffrey McClurken

1301 College Avenue

University of Mary Washington

Fredericksburg, VA 22401 


Professor Elaine Frantz

Department of History 

305 Bowman Hall

800 E. Summit St.

Kent, OH 44242


The A. Elizabeth Taylor Prize is awarded annually to the best article published during the preceding year in the field of southern women's history. Articles published in journals and anthologies between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020 are eligible in 2021. Entries must be written in English, but the competition is open to works published outside the U.S. Editors, authors, and other scholars are invited to nominate eligible articles for the prize. To nominate an article for the Taylor Prize, please submit an electronic copy, preferably in PDF format, to by June 1, 2021. Members of the prize committee are:


Chair, Dr. Danielle McGuire

Professor Brandi Brimmer

Dr. L. Diane Barnes 

For more information visit the SAWH website at  or contact the SAWH executive secretary at 



Contact Info: 

Diane Miller Sommerville, Professor History at Binghamton University, and President of the Southern Association for Women Historians (SAWH)


Contact Email: