Call for Papers - 2020 Society of Civil War Historians Biennial Conference

Barby Singer's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Call for Papers
September 16, 2019
United States
Subject Fields: 
American History / Studies, African American History / Studies, Military History, Slavery, Women's & Gender History / Studies


The Society of Civil War Historians will host its biennial conference at the Sheraton Raleigh Hotel, Raleigh, NC, from June 4-6, 2020. The SCWH welcomes panel proposals or individual papers on the broadly defined Civil War era—chronologically, geographically, and topically. The goal of the conference is to promote the integration of social, cultural, military, and political history, as well as the history of memory, from the period of slavery and westward expansion to the end of Reconstruction. The conference also brings into conversation academic historians, graduate students, and professionals who interpret history in museums, national parks, archives, and other public history sites. 


The deadline for receipt of proposals is September 16, 2019. Please complete a submission form (panel proposal: or single paper proposal: and upload a single PDF file.  Proposals should include a title and abstract for the papers (approximately 250-300 words) and a short curriculum vitae from each participant. Panel submissions should have an overall title and statement about the thrust of the session.


We also welcome proposals that depart from the traditional panel format and instead experiment with other forms, such as workshops, PechaKucha presentations, roundtables, or other means of engaging with the audience.


For more information, see the Society’s website at, or contact the Richards Center at (814) 863-0151. Final decisions on submissions will be made at the Southern Historical Association meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, on November 7-10, 2019.



Program Committee

Thomas J. Brown, University of South Carolina

Angela Diaz, Utah State University

Susanna Michele Lee, North Carolina State University

Barton A. Myers, Washington and Lee University

Amy Murrell Taylor, (chair), University of Kentucky


Contact Email: