Twenty-Eighth Annual KERA Convention

Kristen Dawson's picture

The twenty-eighth annual Kentucky Equal Rights Association convention is held at the Phoenix Hotel in Lexington. Officers for the year are: Christine Bradley South (President), Jessie Leigh Hutchinson (First Vice President), Laura Clay (Second Vice President), Caroline Leech (Third Vice President), Elise Bennett Smith (Corresponding Secretary), Virginia Robb McDowell (Recording Secretary), Rebecca R. Judah (Treasurer), Mrs. Joseph Alderson (Auditor), Josephine Post (Member of NAWSA Executive Committee), and Julia D. Henning (Chairman of Congressional Work). Plans to work for a federal amendment and state amendment granting suffrage are both presented, and the organization ultimately focuses on the federal. At this convention there is also a focus on patriotic work, as the country is in the midst of World War I. Local reports are received from: Clark County, Crittenden County, Fayette County, Franklin County, Fulton County, Grayson County, Hardin County, Irvington, Kenton County, LaRue County, Madison County, Mason County, Middlesboro, Pulaski County, Scott County and Shelby County.


Kentucky Equal Rights Association. Reports of the Twenty-Eighth and Twenty-Ninth Annual Conventions of the Kentucky Equal Rights Association Held at Lexington, Kentucky November 30th and December 1st, 1917 and at Louisville, Kentucky March 11th and 12th, 1919.