Twenty-Third Annual KERA Convention

Kristen Dawson's picture

The twenty-third annual convention of the Kentucky Equal Rights Association is held in the Arts Club Building in Lexington. Officers include: Madeline McDowell Breckinridge (President), Mrs. E.L. Hutchinson (First Vice-President), Mary C. Cramer (Second Vice-President), Nancy Sanford McLaughlin (Third Vice-President), Laura Clay (Corresponding Secretary), Emma M. Roebuck (Recording Secretary), Mrs. Warfield C. Bennett (Treasurer), and Belle Harris Bennett (Member of NAWSA Executive Committee). Two offices that had been held by the same person since 1888 change hands, the President and the Treasurer, which had been held by Laura Clay and Isabella H. Shepard respectively. Plans for the coming year are to increase the number of speeches by the Lecture Bureau and to push for a state amendment for full suffrage. Local reports are received from: Ashland, Bowling Green/Warren County, Clark County, Campbell County, Covington, Fayette County, Harrodsburg, Louisville, Madison County, Meade and Hardin Counties, and Oldham County.


Kentucky Equal Rights Association. Report of the Twenty-Third Annual Convention of the Kentucky Equal Rights Association Held at Lexington, Kentucky in the Arts Club Building October 24th and 25th, 1912.