Eighth Annual KERA Convention

Kristen Dawson's picture

The eighth annual convention of the Kentucky Equal Rights Association is held at the Courthouse in Richmond. Officers elected include: Laura Clay (President), Mary Barr Clay (1st Vice President), Mary Cramer (2nd Vice President), Miss Belle Bennett (3rd Vice President), Eugenia B. Farmer (Corresponding Secretary), Mary Ritchie McKee (Recording Secretary), and Isabella H. Shepard (Treasurer). Local organizations noted include: the Paducah, Owensboro, Bowling Green, Fayette, Kenton County, Louisville, Madison County, Campbell County, Glasgow, Jessamine County and Covington Equal Rights Associations. Plans for the coming year include the continuation and expansion of school suffrage campaigns, raising the age of consent, and creating Houses of Reform for girls as well as boys, with women on the boards. 


Kentucky Equal Rights Association. Minutes of the Eighth Annual Convention of the Kentucky Equal Rights Association, December 10th, 11th, 12th, 1895, Held at the Court-House, Richmond, KY.